MM 55 C-E STIHL YARD BOSS® - $379.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
MM 55 C-E STIHL YARD BOSS®

DSRP: $379.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The same powerful multi-tasking tool as the MM 55, but enhanced with STIHL Easy2Start™ technology for nearly effortless starting.

There are not too many things a STIHL YARD BOSS® can't handle. One of two great multi-task yard care systems, the lightweight and powerful MM 55 C-E STIHL HomeScaper Series™ YARD BOSS® offers the same versatility as the MM 55 but features the Easy2Start™ system. With a pick tine cultivator set included as standard, this system is also available with an optional weight kit — helping the tines more ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MM 55 C-E STIHL YARD BOSS® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
WEIGHT 9.8 kg (21.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 330 cc (11.2 oz.)
TINE SPEED 200 rpm
CULTIVATING WIDTH 8.5"
PICK TINE DIAMETER 9.1"
POWER SOURCE Gas
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Compact Design
    The folding handles and front hand grip make the YARD BOSS® compact and easy to transport and store.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Multi-Tasking Tool
    Switch between any of the eight YARD BOSS® optional attachments quickly.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Zoom
    Protected Spark Plug Cover
    The spark plug cap is integrated in the equipment’s housing, so the spark plug remains protected while still being easy to change.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    A small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor when pushed, reducing the number of starting strokes required following extended breaks in operation.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • FS-MM Trimmer Attachment Zoom
    FS-MM Trimmer Attachment
    Now you can turn your STIHL YARD BOSS® into a quality wheeled trimmer, adding ease and convenience to your trimming tasks – all for much less than the cost of a dedicated trimmer mower. The STIHL FS-MM trimmer attachment features a dependable STIHL AutoCut® 25-2 trimmer head for precision cutting tasks. To advance the line, just tap the trimmer head against the ground. Need to change the trimmer head? The FS-MM trimmer head is designed to be removed and replaced with a wide range of STIHL trimmer heads, including STIHL SuperCut™, FixCut™, DuroCut and more!

    Note: Must be used with wheel kit.
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • KW-MM STIHL PowerSweep™ Attachment Zoom
    KW-MM STIHL PowerSweep™ Attachment
    Heavy-duty rubber flaps clean up compacted dirt on roads and sidewalks, moves pebbles and sand from grassy turf, and even removes water and light snow from hard surfaces.
    Note: This attachment must be used with large deflector and extensions.
  • FC-MM Bed Edger Attachment Zoom
    FC-MM Bed Edger Attachment
    Used to cut a defined or distinct edge to separate the grass lawn from the cultivated soil in a planting area.
For Your Safety
  • GSX Glasses Zoom
    GSX Glasses
    STIHL GSX Protective Glasses feature adjustable temples allowing a customized fit and a soft nose pad that offers comfort that lasts all day. Polycarbonate glasses with impact-resistant lens provide 99% UV protection.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MM 55 C-E STIHL YARD BOSS® is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for small jobs I bought my Yard Boss 2 weeks ago because I got tired of tilling the yard by hand. It works great. I had previously owned another tiller but it quit working at 1 season so hopefully Stihl rep will make it worth the money. I would not buy any of the attachments (way to expensive and I would rather spend the money on attachments for the rider mower).
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yard boss tiller This is the best tiller I have owned. Starts first time and very easy. I would strongly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features I purchased this yard boss when I lived in Louisiana and loved it for tilling my garden. I gave it to a friend and moved away. I just bought another one because I'm getting into gardening once again. I love gardening and this tiller is going to come in handy.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, dependable and gets the job done!!!!!!!!!!! I love this tool. Recently moved to a new (older house) a few years ago and I live to be outside. I have been redoing,as well making new flower beds, garden, etc. I borrowed my brother-in-law's Stihl tiller and I liked it so much I recently purchased my own. I have definitely been putting it to good use. It is perfect in size, shape etc. It is easy to clean and maintain. I can't say enough good things about this equipment. With the Stihl name on it, you know it has the quality, durability that you would expect from Stihl. I bought it from my local Ritter store and the employees there were very knowledgeable about the product and were of great assistance. Thanks..........
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workhorse and absolute beast for its size Recently purchased this model to help with preparing my land to start my new yard. Didn't want something that dug too deep just loosen the top layers of soil. Saw a lawn care pro use this on a small area of land for this purpose so I decided to buy one. Used this little beast for over 6 hours yesterday and had zero problems it exceeded my expectations of what I thought it could do. While using it I found if you pull it instead of pushing it will dig into the ground more efficiently. Also with the amount of power it has for its size allows you to do some heavy duty tasks without wearing yourself out. Finally the flexibility of all of the attachments available for this unit it can replace many other lawn power tools and would be a valuable purchase for most homeowners. Finally all who purchase this or other equipment with two stroke engines be sure to only use GAS that doesn't contain ethanol because the ethanol will wreck the carburetors on these engines and you will have to get it worked on each year if you use that gas no matter what octane you use.
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MM 55 C-E Yard Boss Fantastic versatility with the opportunity to self-manage the depth of cultivation. I use this equipment in the rose bed as well as for preparation of my spring gardening needs and the final winter preps on my soil after gleaning has taken place. Many of the home owners in this neighborhood have similar type equipment, but I noticed my Stihl starts easier, is more fuel efficient and runs quieter.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great garden tool Works excellent in cultivating the garden, easy to keep the garden clean, very easy to operate and very durable
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile machine! Does everything I need with plenty of power. Attachments are very easy to switch out.Highly recommend this product!!
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for small gardens the yard boss is a life saver for weeding your gardens, at first I did not like the pick tines that came with it, so I upgraded to the bo lo tines they work much better in clay soil, not saying that the pick tines are junk but bo lo tines work better for me pick tines will dig ok if I pull the tiller back ward to make it dig in , all jokes aside it is a great small tiller for a flower bed or small garden
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well. This is my third Stihl machine. I like the first two so well (string grass edger and blower) that I bought this third one. As with the other two, this one works well and did a good job. Im sold on the Stihl product line.
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent on my mulch pile of leaves and grass clipping Light weight and easy to wheel around with the wheel kit. Great setup and delivery by Hingham Lumber. I also purchased the Bollo tines which were installed. The machine was easy to start with the easy start system. At first I thought the tine revolutions were slow when free wheeling but it powered through my compost pile, shredding the materials into fine pieces. I would recommend it.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Product Recently purchased this product. Light weight, easy to use. Easy to clean blades and change to make into a tiller. Definitely worth the price.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Garden boxes Absolutely the right tool for the job. Working great in my fairly large above ground garden boxes. It's lightweight and can easily be lifted into and out of the boxes. Bought the other set of tines for pulverizing the mix of topsoil, peat and composted cow manure. This tiller makes light work in turning over and freshening up the top 4-5 inches, which is really all you need. Very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced 3 tools in my shed Have had this about a month now. I bought it to replace a string trimmer mower and 2 another brands tillers. Purchased the trimmer head and a cutting blade at the same time. The videos show tilling in the forward direction on You Tube but that is WRONG. You have to pull the tiller back just like the the other brands tillers so it was not a big deal. The best part for me is being able to replace 3 tools taking up space in one package.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds Expectations I use my MM 55 only as a cultivator/tiller. It is VERY handy to go between rows. Starts easily even after not running for weeks. Very portable. Perfect for getting in to tight places or working up a small area. Glad I bought it.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snow brush to rid sidewalk of snow the blower left behind My new machine has a brush to sweep away any snow left behind by my snowblower. It has no way to move the snow off to the side, so I have a light weight show shovel close by to pick up the small piles of snow I leave every 10 feet or so.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Product I’ve been very happy with the Yard boss for the past 3 years. I have the bristle brush, powersweep, tines and the edger attachments. I have used it rigorously. Easy to handle, and it folds up for easy storage. I only have 2 complaints. 1) I’ve had to disassemble and clean the clutch assembly for the pull start due to dirt and debris preventing from engaging. 2) Please Stihl, make the “Bed Redefiner” for the Yard Boss! I really want this!
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just my size This works great for my garden and not so huge like my husband's rototiller. My husband however likes to use it too. I just wish that the attachments weren't so expensive.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Features other cultivators don't have. Great item so far ahead of it competitor brands its funny.
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love its compact design yet big enough to do the job. Being a heavy equipment operator,this did the job. Exceeded my expectation.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves it This is a great cultivator. We've only used it as a cultivator and it is so easy to use that my wife won't let me use it. She loves it and I do too.We have 5 above ground vegetable garden boxes and she's able to lift it in and out without any problems. It starts very easily even after sitting out the winter in our shed through the Minnesota winters with fuel in the tank. I run only non-oxy fuel in it and would never use oxyginated fuel in any 2-stroke.
Date published: 2015-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and use. The Easy2Start system is great! I purchased the optional wheels and find that the placement of the wheels help me control the depth of cultivation. Without the wheels touching the ground at all I do have trouble controlling the speed, as you squeeze the throttle with your right hand and I am unable to squeeze partially and still maintain enough grip to control the machine.I also wish it wasn't so loud! My husband tells me that is normal and I am too sensitive to noise, haha
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very suprising Tool! My wife talked me into buying this tool and I must admit I was very skeptical at first. The local dealer suggested the wheel attachment. So we made the purchase. I'm so very glad my wife talked me into this and thanks to my local dealer for the Wheel kit. I found the yard Boss to be very easy to start and use with plenty of power.As with my other STILH tools this one is a keeper. If you have small jobs maintaining your yard, the Yard Boss is a very versatile tool for all ready established yards. I now own almost all of the attachments and am very pleased. I would highly reccomd this for maintaing your yard. Makes maintaing my yard fun and easy.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only for tilling potting loose soil Very dissatisfied!!! Have owned Echo and Mantis cultivators and both are hands down better than this one. No power and not near enough RPM to work. Fine for little old ladies, but using it to work on real jobs is not practical. My echo and mantis were awesome. this one just bogs and goes way too slow!!! had to flip handles over to try to correct weight distribution and gain some weight on the tines and get it to try to dig...it helped.... even my wife agreed it was better, but still a waste of time. Sorry, had high hopes for this one and was disappointed!
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suprisingly Powerful and Effective I bought the Yard Boss with the cultivator head and have been delighted at it's effectiveness. One never knows with combination tools like this, but then I've come to trust Sthil equipment. We have several planting beds at a new build home and the soil is all over the place...clay, compost, logs, rocks and this piece of equipment took it all. Sure, you have to pick out rocks, but I used it to mix the soil and compost and rotted wood and got a great mix as far down as 8 to 10 inches. Easy to use. Powerful. Great buy.
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is very versatile I purchased MM 55 C-E with the power broom to remove rocks from my lawn after plowing snow all winter. It works perfectly. When I have it out people stop in and want to hire me to sweep their lawns.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You need this powerful versitile tool easy starts every time! simple to change to options, used for tilling small gardens and flower beds. took a bit to get to know the machine and found the going in reverse gets better control and lessens jumpinghave power sweeper attachment and used to clear snow from drive way and stones in grass from a pile of landscaping rock . Excellent results and started no problems in extreme cold weather.Just bought the lawn dethatcher and was shocked at how effective this was!Excellent tool to have and I recommend itlightweight and good size to making it easy to transport and hang out the way in garage but east to assess as I am using in in all four seasonsCons: small gas tank and drinks a lot of fuel. expensive attachments..but quality costs.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The size and power is excellent. The Yard Boss has been an excellent addition to our Stihl tool collection. The easy start feature is very worthwhile. I like the size, power and ease of operation. Very satisfied with the Yard Boss and the edger attachment.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Small Garden Tiller The Yard Boss is perfect for small garden and flower bed preparation in spring. I like the light weight but powerful performance.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse Power and Weight It is definitely light weight and easy to use but has difficulties cutting threw grass grown areas. I should invest in the weight add-on for this model. Compared to a Mantis Tiller.......I should've bought the top-of-the-line Mantis. Just better. period.
Date published: 2014-05-10
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_mm55ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl