SG 20 - $119.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
SG 20

DSRP: $119.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A manual backpack sprayer for professionals that maintains constant pressure.

Need more accuracy and precision for your professional spraying jobs? The SG 20 manual backpack sprayer is perfect for up close applications— like pesticide or herbicides. Lightweight and comfortable to operate with easy to maintain components, this sprayer has a pressurized fluid reservoir separate from the main tank, so you can maintain constant pressure and refill without losing working pressur...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
SG 20 Specifications
TANK CAPACITY 18.0 L (4.75 gals.)
WORKING PRESSURE 40 psi +/- 10%
WEIGHT WITHOUT LIQUID 5.1 kg (11.2 lbs.)
Important Information
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
For Your Safety
  • Reflective Safety Vest Zoom
    Reflective Safety Vest
    Class II reflective vest that is required for working along highways meets ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 standard. Longer tail in the back provides maximum reflective exposure for users running backpack blowers. Two front pockets and one chest pocket provide utility for carrying necessary items. Available sizes: Medium, Large, X Large, XX Large

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

SG 20 is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looks good but... I've had this sprayer for a couple years. The main issue I had from the start was the harness straps...they are not easy to adjust and dig into your shoulders when you have a full tank. I replaced the wand once when the full tank fell over and accidentally broke it; the plastic wand is the most fragile part. Recently, the seal where the pressure module enters the tank started to leak and this has become problematic. Also, the rubber hoses have a short life span; mine have already begun to crack and leak...I would not buy this model again unless certain improvements were made, I'd be willing to pay extra for a more durable product.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great features Amazing products that stihl has in production bit I will say the straps that go over your shoulders are so un comfortable. I would like to see the straps off the bg 600 or 700 on these sprayers.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only two months old and having problems I bought the sprayer at the end of March. I've already had to replace the wand because it wouldn't shut off. Now it won't build up pressure when I try to pump it up. I went with a Stihl sprayer because I thought it would last longer than the cheaper sprayers I've been buying. Looks like I was wrong. At least with the cheaper ones I could get through a mowing season. I like it when it was working properly but not very happy at this point.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't recommend I have owned this sprayer for under a year and I was moving it around this winter and dropped the wand on the ground from a few feet, just the wand bot the whole thing. Well the wand snapped in half and parts are not even available. The pump also locked up on me
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, not great... Now that I have ran a half dozen+ tanks full, I have a learned opinion. Overall, it's fairly robust. The pump arm is sturdy, along with the tank. The spray wand feels slightly flimsy, but it hasn't been a problem. So far the biggest oversight is in the fact that the wand doesn't have lock-out feature. I feel this is a substantial problem, as when you need to move from one location to another, it's not always practical to relieve pressure from the system. On two occasions the wand lever bumped into something while loading the pack into a vehicle, and in spite of trying to be careful. This resulted in spray on my pants leg and a bit on the trunk liner of my vehicle. I plan on making a lock-out block myself, but this is something that should have been incorporated from the start.As for carrying comfort, it's better than a Solo, but still wears on you once you start that third tank full and beyond. The nozzle spray pattern is consistent, and the filter in the grip has not plugged up the way the Solo filter in the tip often does. Overall I like it, but really would like to see a lock-out feature on the spray wand.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sg 20 best in it's class The Sg 20 is the only back pack sprayer I use. It's ability to keep the pressure during refills is amassing. stihl you've really got a good thing here SG 20 The bahamas
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I've owned many Stihl products over the years. Their chainsaws and trimmers are fantastic and I have never had any issues...the Backpack sprayer does NOT! In four years and only spraying 3/4 times in the Spring/Summer - every year since I have owned it, I have had to bring the sprayer in for something. At first, it wasnt much of an issue since it was under warranty. The last few years this is not the case and once again with Spring arrives and I need to take another trip to shop!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I agree with the first two reviews After owning an SG 20 for only one year a crack formed in the handle and it began to spray liquid all over my hand and arm. As it is Sunday, I can't order a replacement and don't know how much it will cost. As I use Stihl saws and trimmers exclusively, I would expect better from Stihl They must know that the valve handle is defective.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great overall sprayer I own a lawn care business and I use all STIHL power equipment I usually have to replace the wand/ trigger mech on my sprays at least once year other than that it is a great sprayer
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor spray handle keeps cracking Purchased three wand triggers so far. They keep cracking. Not covered under warranty. Sprays far enough but the wand valve is the weak link. Might as well go to lowes and buy a throw away every year.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pumper so far Just ended my fourth season with this pumper. One of my main tools. I am currently doing prairie rehab and honey suckle removal on a twohundred acre farm/forest. I've spent hours with it killing Johnson grass and acres of honey suckle in the woodlands. I've used with D fuel -herbicide-dye solutions, though nasty still works well. It's easy to pack through thickets and up steep woodland hills if you stay tight. I'm 64 now and my main problem is getting 4.5 gal of liquid on my back and my neck shoulder muscles go knumb some days but it's not the pumper fault but is an illustration of how much I use it. It's easy ti fill and use. I have not yet had any leaks or pump problems. My only complaint is the wand plunger/trigger is weak and sticks and the lock bail is poor which leads to a stay-on condition, but I work around that.I love it.For Stihl: I would like see 1) more padding on shoulder harness, 2) brass wand and gun trigger upgrade, spray nozzle is excellent. 3) pump handle w slight bend inward so working through brush thickets is cleaner.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Useful Backpack Sprayer - SG 20 This backpack sprayer harness is adjustable so the equipment fits me comfortably during the application of my weed killer. fertilizer and pesticides. Also, the applicator wand is adjustable and ensures my spraying accuracy because it holds my adjustments without slipping out of adjustment. Finally, I enjoy the constant pressure feature that allows me accuracy and control in my yard maintenance tasks. The Stihl Engineers did an impressive job of designing the pressurized fluid reservoir separate from the main tank. It helps me maintain constant pressure even through refills. This keeps my property looking good without splotchy blobs of overspray scorching the vegetation and ruining the appearance of our home.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent performance I've been using my sprayer pretty hard for a couple of months now. Perfect from the beginning. No leaks. Excellent wand control, power and spray patterns. I have only one suggestion - devise on-board storage for the hex wrench that comes with the sprayer. Hasn't happened yet but I know the wrench and sprayer will eventually be separated.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is very easy to use and great quality. Excellent sprayer and outstanding quality. This sg-20 represents Stihl very well.
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from UNHAPPY with SG20 I am also an unhappy owner of a Stihl SG-20 back-pac sparyer. I have owned mine for a little over 3 years and my wife uses it around the house & farm spaying grass in garden and yard. I own 4 Stihl grass trimmers FS80 & 85, a Stihl pole saw and a Stihl Farm Boss chain saw in which I am very pleased with and would not own anything else. But back to my problems with my SG 20, we are having the same problem with the pump not being able to pump it because it is locking up. I have always lubricated the piston every time we use it but still having this problem. Also due to it being hard to pump now the hose on the sprayer is leaking at the pressure chamber. It leaking on my wife's back every time she uses it. As good as all of my other Stihl products are I am Very disappointed with this SG 20!!!
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sprayer Pump ceased to work I too am an unhappy owner. I've owned mine for for just over 3 years, and the pump no longer works. It's as if the pump piston is "stuck" and it won't move. Yes, I did lubricate it before EVERY use. this is more than disheartening since the Solo brand previously used tended to leak the contents out onto my lower back. I'm sorry folks....but a company that sells a premium product like Stihl should NEVER be able to accept the poor craftsmanship that this SG 20 has proven to have. This wasn't the only thing that failed. The wand lever also broke off in my hand...and it was only a few months old at this time. I hope that Stihl reads this critique, and makes this right by me.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very very disappointed I have had this sprayer for two years. The spray gun has cracked two times and had to be replaced. The hose from the tank to the sprayer gun is now leaking profusely. Because of constant repairs I have only been able to use the sprayer a few times. For the cost and the cost of constant repairs, I would not recommend it.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To all the with bad reviews This is by far the best back pack sprayer you will ever buy. You can replace every single piece on it. As a professional pesticide applicator with licensing thru pennstate university and work for landscaping company, I have 3 of these that are well over 5 years old and the only issues are replacing the nozzles when worn, which you have to do for every sprayer because that's normal wear and tear, and changing and keeping the diaphram/piston area full of clean oil. These are used an average of 25 hours a week each by two of us. I have one for lawn care products, one for tree, shrub and flower products, and one for non-selective herbicides. So as I said anybody that has something bad to say about these products, abused them, or do not know how to properly used them or maintain them. Which is scary because they are very rugged and very simple to maintain. The only con I have is they are heavy and that's only due to the high capacity, so to fix that only put 3 gallons in at a time.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best sprayer for the money, no question about it. I own Honest Pest Solutions in Lawrenceville Georgia! These are the only sprayers we use. We can afford to buy any sprayers we want regardless of cost.. But the Stihl SG 20 is the best. I think the majority of the negative reviews about these sprayers are clearly operator error. We use them everyday all year long and owning many of them I can honestly say we haven't had any of the problems some of the people on here have had. Plus there is no actual proof they are giving truthful reviews or even own the SG20. The only con I have are the straps could be thicker, more padding. I hope this helps you decide and become a proud Stihl owner like we are! Do the research, educate yourself, and own a Stihl SG 20. I promise you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bought in 2009 I have been using this sprayer regularly around the farm in my pastures. I have several sizes but I like this one because I have more control on my overspray. We have pecan trees and produce. I can get places my tractor and scooter cannot. I do wish replacement parts were cheaper and easier to get but they are available at my dealer that I have used for years.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The orange pressure bulb split and cannot buy a new one. The orange pressure tube on the side split even though the pressure in the cylinder was in the low range. So far I have been unable to purchase a replacement orange cylinder and looks like I will have to buy a complete new backpack. The unit would have been used a maximum of 10 times.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you need parts, they all come from a dealer This backpack sprayer worked well, until it didn't. I got about 2 years of good use out of it, but when I needed to replace a part, that's when I was in for a surprise. Unfortunately, when I put the sprayer away for the winter, I didn't completely drain the spray wand, and the plastic handle froze, swelled, and cracked. When I went online to look for a replacement handle, I found out that all parts are sold through dealers. I was very disappointed to find that I'd have to go through a dealer for all replacement parts. Not only that, but I couldn't buy just the cracked piece, I would have to buy the whole wand assembly for almost the cost of a whole new complete backpack sprayer. To utilize the remains life left in the main unit, I ended up buying a generic wand for replacement. I won't be buying any more Stihl products simply because the difficulty in obtaining parts for a reasonable cost.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best As a professional herbicide applicator, i've found the SG 20 to be simply marvelous. Decent build quality, with power that can't be matched by any sprayer in it's price range that i've come across. While it does have it's issues, it beats every other pack I've come across for one simple reason, maintenance. While most other packs are designed to be used up and thrown away, the SG 20 can be rebuilt indefinitely as long as you've got the parts. On top of that, the entire pressurizing system is located outside the chemical tank, which allows for tear downs in the field with minimal chemical loss. The system it self is dirt simple, comprised of two valves and a pair of ball bearings, and as anybody who uses a tool day in day out is aware, simplicity always trumps complexity. Any broken parts can be stripped and replaced in no time flat with a wrench and flat head screwdriver, which is especially important when you've got a dead line to reach. As someone who puts in ten to twelve hour days, five to six days a week, seven months out of the year...this pack has become as crucial as my ATV. I used to go through one or two packs in a year, Now I'm on my forth season with the same unit, and only a hand full of parts replaced.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My pump has quit working twicw in one year. Which warranty wont cover. Buy a cheaper sprayer, as it works as well or better and will last longer than my stihl did
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great at first I loved this sprayer when I first started using it. Wondered what took me so long to get one. After about 10 uses over a years time, I filled it up one day and it simply would not work. Fluid came flooding out of the piston. I always run plenty of clean water and air through the unit when finished spraying. I will look for something different.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Sprayer This is the best sprayer out nursery has ever had and we have had 0 problems for 3 years with them only problem now is we need 2 more and i can't seem to find any for sale. anybody know if they discontinued this model?
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Stihl warranty does NOT include the sprayer handle. The Stihl warranty does NOT include the sprayer handle which is now made of plastic and cracked with 3 months of use (why is this, Stihl?). They also lessened the density of the shoulder straps which makes it WAY more uncomfortable with a full load, and they even deleted the D-rings sewn onto the end of the shoulder strap adjustment so now you have to fuss to grab the end of the strap when cinching down. The new pump system is great, but whomever designed this sprayer does not have much experience/feedback in using them. And the plastic handle/warranty issue: inexcusable.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For Forestry work... Nothing against lanscapers, but the use and abuse I put these packs through with my Forestry work is much more strenuous.We trek and trudge through kudzu, briars, privet. thick undergrowth head high or taller, often at the same time, and these packs have held up phenomenally!I do agree, a belt would be helpful as would a very simply added chest strap..which is true for the harness that comes with the brush saws...but we've had only minor issues with the plastic wands and for the hundreds of acres we've sprayed, I've only had to replace two...count 'em...TWO o rings and one piston.My guys regularly maintain them, and we're very careful, slow, and methodical. With other brands, it didn't matter how careful you were, they would break.I'll buy any unit anyone wants to sell. I want a slew of them!
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from why didn't I buy one sooner? This sprayer is the best or commercial business has owned. But what else do you expect, it is a Stihl. This sprays so consistently and so even I will never buy another brand of spray ever.
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! This Sprayer works very well for weed control! Pumps easy as you spray! Has a 4.75 gallon capacity! I have no complains with it, very well made!
Date published: 2015-04-28
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_sg20, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl