FSA 45 - $129.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FSA 45

DSRP: $129.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

An affordable string trimmer including a built-in battery and adjustable shaft length.

Note: Product availability may vary by location. With its integrated battery, the FSA 45 string trimmer is a great choice for occasional use on small properties. Part of the AI Series, the FSA 45 comes standard with the STIHL PolyCut™ 2-2 mowing head, making it ideal to cut in hard-to-reach places and large areas of tall grass. This STIHL AI Series trimmer is lightweight at only 5.1 lbs. ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FSA 45 Specifications
CUTTING WIDTH 23 cm (9")
RUN TIME (w/ Integrated Battery) With STIHL PolyCut™: Up to 20 min.
With line: Up to 12 min.
WEIGHT (w/ Integrated Battery) 2.3 kg (5.1 lbs.)
Weight without cutting attachment or guard. Comes with integrated battery and charger.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Adjustable front handle 
    The front handle is easily adjustable (360-degree rotation) for comfort.
  • Zoom
    Loop Handle
    A thumb screw allows the ergonomic loop handle to be easily adjusted to the desired position without tools.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any trimmer/brushcutter can cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow all safety instructions in your instruction manual. To reduce the risk of injury from blade contact, circular saw blades may be used on FS brushcutters that have a limitstop, a bicycle handle and double shoulder harness and not on FS brushcutters with a "J" handle or loop handle. Other rigid blades may be used on FS brushcutters having a bicycle handle, a "J" handle or a loop handle equipped with a barrier bar. To reduce the risk of eye injury always wear proper eye protection. Always use the appropriate deflector for the type of cutting attachment, as explained in your instruction manual.
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Heads & Blades
    Many trimmer heads and blades are available. Find out which ones to use with this model in this chart.  
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Line
    There's high-performance STIHL trimmer line for every operating condition. 
  • Zoom
    Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
We Also Suggest
  • Quiet Line™ Zoom
    Quiet Line™
    STIHL uses a custom blend of polymers to produce a trimmer line with the best all-around characteristics of abrasion resistance, flexibility over time and temperature ranges, and welding resistance. Quiet Line™ is available in .080” and .095” diameters and comes color-coded so that the diameter can be easily determined.

     

     

     Trimmer Chart
For Your Safety
  • Camo Glasses Zoom
    Camo Glasses
    Style and protection come together with STIHL Camo Frame Glasses. These eye protection goggles are wrapped in camouflage print and provide 99% UV protection. Soft rubber temple tips and nosepiece help maintain fit and while reducing slippage.
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.
  • Reusable Ear Plugs Zoom
    Reusable Ear Plugs
    Top-quality hearing protection you can keep in your pocket. NRR 27 Reusable Ear Plugs from STIHL feature multiple layers of air cushioning for superior noise reduction and long-lasting comfort. Their tapered design provides a secure seal that keeps you protected almost anywhere – from the shooting range to the job site. And thanks to the included nylon cord and carrying case, you can keep your ear plugs handy for the long haul.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FSA 45 is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for small lots This trimmer is perfect for m property. Charges quickly and lasts long enough to do the whole yard.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Suitable for a child's toy Blades wear out in ten minutes. Bogs down in thin grass, then you have to press three, yes, three, switches to restart. I am sorry that I bought product.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO REPLACEMENT BLADES = USELESS My first Stihl purchase. Bought mainly on company's reputation. It was what I was looking for, a trimmer with blades instead of line. I've always had bad luck with the spools of tangled line from line trimmers, so I bought the FSA 45 Trimmer. Worked fine, not terribly powerful but I bought it for smaller jobs and went into it knowing what I was getting. What I didn't know was that I wouldn't be able to get replacement blades. They are non-existent as far as I can tell. I've checked at all of the hardware stores and online, read reviews and for some reason they can't be found which basically means I bought an expensive disposable trimmer. As the weeds grow I must now go out and purchase another trimmer. Can you guess what brand it won't be?
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, low maintenance trimmer for yard work I bought this trimmer from my local full service dealer and love it. I don't have a huge amount of property to cover so except for the first use when I started getting the yard into shape I've been able to do clearing and edging for both yards on one charge. This trimmer is very lightweight and easy to use for basic yard duty. The only problems I have with it are that the blade coasts rather than braking when the trigger is released, and the fact that the blades seem to wear fairly quickly. Fortunately they are relatively cheap and extremely easy to replace, and I have learned how to use the trimmer better without wearing them down as fast. Overall I would recommend this trimmer for basic yard maintenance with little to no hassle or maintenance required.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this FSA 45 After reading all the negative reviews, it makes me wonder if people were expecting more out of this little yard trimmer. And... I love the string option. Yes people it has a string option of .065 right next to the blade attachment. Either your dealer is not informed or you didn't look at the manual. I traded my Ryobi 20volt rig for this one and I am happy. Next time do some research on the tool your buying. Don't buy a claw hammer to drive railroad spikes.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from only thing i like is its lightweight I am so disappointed! Always heard Stihl was the best I beg to differ. For the money I paid 2 months ago only to have it back at the dealer twice. They wont refund or exchange. When the Red lights come in its an Electrical Malfunction. Or so the manuel says. I had only used 7 times when the lights came on took to dealer they RAN it 3 times no problems after keeping it almost a week. I found out today they didnt Use it. Because after using 3 more times it started with the Red lights again so I was back at the dealer. Apparently its ok to use something with an Electrical Malfunction! Also the line will not stay in. It flies across the yard so therefore you have to buy the more expensive blades which get chewd up around fence or concrete. Also theyvhave to be kept in water to keep from breaking off which I was not told. I could go on and on but I have to go try this thing again.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Greatly disappointed in this trimmer Purchased this product for my wife. She does most of the trimming, she's small, so small and lighter weight were a priority. Purchased at a dedicated outdoor equipment dealer, so we would trust their judgement a bit more. To say the least, both the decision to purchase this model, and the information given to us before the purchase, have left us greatly displeased. First, we were told by the salesman that recharge time was in the half hour range. WRONG. Multiple hours needed to fully recharge. Second, the blade life is terrible. The blades are not breaking, they are just flat out wearing out in a very short amount of cutting. It came with extra blades, she's went through those in very short time span. Before purchasing, we asked about the option of converting to a string type head. We were told that using string ran the battery down much quicker. With the short life we're already experiencing, I can only imagine how little could/would be done if we converted.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I am 5'2"..small framed..bought this to trim in between husband using gas powered trimmer, which is to big for me. I wish battery lasted longer. But we own 2 acres.. I did most of front. Around all my hardscaping..it was awesome.. it gets heavy after awhile. Battery didn't take long to charge a few hours.. blades are easy to change. May get expensive if doing whole tard. Fencing chews up blades ,but that's any trimmer issue. Highly recommend for small female or men with small to medium yards .I had plenty to do so I recharged battery while working on sweeping sidewalks, planting flowers. Ready to go again.. I needed the break I weed eater almost an hour before dead battery..Need an attachment to store on wall with trimmer price.. Easy to use.. could be lighter.. but I love it.. Not our main trimmer, we use this for in between and I use since our second or main trimmer is to big to heavy.Perfect for me..
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Complete Waste of my money! I am very disappointed in this weed eater! I wish I had never purchased it! The battery will only last about 30 minutes and the trimmer line is so thin that you have to replace it about every 10 feet....or less. So frustrating! Half the time the trimmer line will not even stay in place and when you turn on the weed eater it shoots the trimmer line off into the grass. Again, I Wish I had not wasted my money!!! :(.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a good product This has been a very disappointing purchase. Blades deteriorate will alarming speed, and come to find out the blades are nearly impossible to find! Battery life and usability not good. What a waste of money!
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from do not recommend this product I purchased this product primarily for my wife -- the Stihl name is legend. The battery life is not great and finding the quickly used cutting blades is nearly impossible -- I am not a happy Stihl customer -- own their Blower and chain saws -- they are great company, but this product is not up to the Stihl standards, no matter how much they invest in advertising.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No better than battery trimmers for half the price. I expected to get a better battery trimmer than the box-store trimmers that are half the price of the Stihl. Plastic blades hard to get and last for two trimmings at the most. SA45 power not the greatest either. Over-rated and over-priced.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trimmer itself is great, trimmer head not so much Purchased this product so that I could help my husband with the yard, since I don't really want to deal with gas. The trimmer itself lasted way longer than the 15 or 20 minutes it said. It lasted me about 45 minutes, using it pretty much constantly. The main problem I have is that the blades that are unique to Stihl are worn out after every use, which means I have to replace them every time. The upside is replacing them is super easy, the downside is our nearest store is a little ways away, and they don't always have the blades in stock. Since the trimmer head can't be switched out for a line trimmer head, I am kind of forced into buying these blades whenever I can find time to get to the store and when they have them in stock.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor blade performance Love Stihl products but very disappointed in the blades for this product lasted only for 2 weeks, not up to Stihl standards
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't Use Product Due to Lack of Replacement Blades Bought the trimmer for my wife because it is light weight and doesn't require mixing fuel or an extension cord. My wife really likes this machine. Unavailability of expensive replacement blades makes this unusable machine a regrettable wall hanging in my garage. You can spend money on engineering and advertising all you want but if you can't follow through with the most basic items to make the product usable why bother?
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Little Trimmer This is a great little trimmer, plenty of power and light weight, easy to use.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. easy to use and very lite weight.easy to use and very lite weight.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Underperforming for my needs. I was looking for a battery powered trimmer to store at my camp and decided to try the FSA 45. I thought it would be nice to not worry about transporting fuel every time I went to camp. Being a Stihl, I was confident that I'd be happy with this trimmer so without hesitation I bought it and off to camp I went. I performed a full charge and started my trimming endeavors but was quickly disappointed. The trimmer just didn't have the power I was expecting. It would be trimming and just shut off once I hit a thick patch of grass. Getting it started is a chore because of all the switches and triggers on the handle have to be repressed. I was doing mostly continuous trimming and after about 20 minutes the battery was dead and needed recharged. Also, the plastic blades didn't cut as well as I was hoping they would. The tips wore away very quickly which decreased the cutting radius in turn increased my cutting time. The edging option was nice but it also wore the blades down even faster. The blades are cheap to purchase but you'll need to stock up on them. I would really recommend this trimmer if you have a very small area to trim. The trimmer is very lite weight and easy to store away because it is retractable. And I'm sure it will last along time because Stihl just doesn't make junk. For me, I just had to high of expectations for this trimmer and I bought the wrong one for the job. I'll be returning this for a gas trimmer. I'll probably just buy the Stihl fuel and store it at the camp because it has a two year shelf life.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do NOT buy this product Based on a recommendation from the Saw / Rental Shop that I buy equipment from, I purchased this unit on March 30, 2017 for my wife to use.in her garden.I tried to order extra polymer plastic blades for this unit at the time of purchase and was told "They are easy to get." BAH - HUMBUG!!!!!!It is now May 21, 2017 (6 weeks later) and the replacement blades (which are poorly made) have been back ordered by the STIHL Company time & time again - I am unable to use this piece of junk because the STIHL Company does not back-up their tools with adequate replacement parts or competent service. DO NOT BUY ANY OF THESE RECHARGEABLE BATTERY TRIMMERS!!!!t if you do,.......... "You'll be SORRY!!!!A VERY, VERY Dissatisfied Customer
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product if used for its intended use. I am surprised by some of the negative reviews. The product is small, light weight, intended for small yards, and quick jobs. The blades are poly blades that are solid and which are great for grass and other small weeds. Fences, concrete, rocks, and other solid objects will greatly decrease the life of the blades, however there is a metal guard on the front that you can put down to make sure you do not cut too close to such objects. I have a small 5000 sq ft. yard, I trim by lots of fence and flower beds using the guard and the first set of blades have lasted more than a month. The unit comes with 8 blades and I am still on the first set. It is different than a string trimmer and should be used accordingly. The battery life isn't incredible but again is more than sufficient when used accordingly. If you have a large yard or are planning on clearing large square foot areas, than this product is probably not for you. Again if you have a larger yard get a larger, more powerful, higher capacity battery setup, which Stihl also has.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NO BUY! I have been buying Stihl gas products (trimmer, blower and hedge trimmer) for over 30 years. They are remarkable and require little maintenance. I gave that equipment to my son before moving to a community where lawn care was provided. I decided to invest in the battery powered trimmer after realizing the lawn crew was taking nicks out of the concrete around the edge of the house. Be warned, the plastic blades did far more damage in one day than the lawn crew did in a year! Since this model cannot be adapted to a string trimmer, I will look for a Stihl string trimmer. Dissaponted!
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beware of blades The blades for this product last for one use, and are relatively expensive. The trimmer line option involves very thin line which only lasts about three or four linear feet of trimming. Upset that I wasted my money. Definitely need to consider models that have more traditional line and feed features in the trimmer head.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blades Dealer did not tell me not to use around fences and my concrete edging (flower garden) went through all blades .wasted my money
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little trimmer! I bought this trimmer to trim around my flower beds, while my husband uses the big gas trimmer elsewhere. My arm still lacks strength due to an extensive shoulder surgery, but this trimmer is very easy to handle and so adjustable that I have no problems with using it. My only recommendation is that the FSA 45 has a built-in battery, and I don't get everything done before the battery runs out (that is why is rated the POWER as GOOD and not excellent. (I do have several flower beds!) This is a perfect little trimmer for someone with a smaller area, but I wish I would have spent a few more bucks and got the next size up model, so I could have an extra battery ready to go when the first one tired out. OVERALL a great product!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good little unit I bought this for my 9 year old son to use when I work nights for a few weeks, so he can help me out. Super easy to change blades, lightweight and endlessly able to reconfigure the setup. Short, tall, head angle, foregrip handle......All adjustable. I own many Stihl products, and have yet to have any complaints. This is a great unit for youngsters, elderly, and the occasional person that may not be able to handle the weight of heavier gas trimmers. All that being said, this is NOT anything like my fs130r. If you're buying this thinking it's gonna have endless power and can stand up to a residential or commercial gas powered unit, it's not. Buy it for what it is, a small battery operated trimmer that is super easy to setup and use.
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is simple to use. I purchased this trimmer for use on my small yard in areas where grass grows between flowers, bushes, trees, etc. For an 18V trimmer, this one feels impressive and emits a kind of quiet power. I took it to a section under one of my trees that had roughly 8" of grass around it's base which I had left from mowing the day before. The trimmer trimmed around the tree while cutting the grass efficiently. I worked on several areas before it started to rain and it did a wonderful job. I used only 1/2 the battery life during the time I was trimming. This unit has two snap on cutters and spare cutters at the underside of the handle. The cutters held up well until I accidently hit a fence pole which damaged them slightly so when I trim again, I will replace them which by the way is a snap.At clean up, I noticed a couple of areas on the trimmer that hold grass and though these are easy to clean, I would recommend making sure they are cleaned after each use or the could become clogged the debris thusly making it really hard should someone need to professionally take the unit apart.All in all, I would say this is a great trimmer for anyone whom has a smaller yard or is simply looking for a cordless trimmer to do light gardening chores. To me, it's a winner!
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this I bought this trimmer yesterday and I'm returning it tomorrow! The plastic blades are a joke. I used all 8 that came with it and only trimmed a fourth of my yard. Also it kept shutting off during use. I bought it because of the Stihl name. Big mistake
Date published: 2017-04-09
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_fsa45, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl