FSA 65 - $209.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FSA 65 w/o battery & charger

DSRP: $209.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Our Lithium-Ion battery-powered trimmer manicures your yard – while eliminating exhaust emissions and power cords. Batteries & chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

For environmentally responsible trimming jobs, the STIHL FSA 65 grass trimmer utilizes STIHL Lithium-Ion technology to eliminate fuel costs and engine emissions. No gasoline, no power cords, and eight times quieter than the STIHL gasoline-powered equivalent. The STIHL Lithium-Ion battery does not have a gradual drop in power during use, running at full speed until the battery is depleted. And the ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FSA 65 Specifications
WEIGHT w/o Battery 2.7 kg (6.0 lbs.)
w/ AP 100 3.5 kg. (7.7 lbs.)
w/ AP 300 4.3 kg. (9.5 lbs.)
RUN TIME (w/ AP 300) Up to 90 Minutes
RUN TIME (w/ AP 100) Up to 30 Minutes
POWER SOURCE Battery
CUTTING WIDTH 30 cm (12")
Weight without cutting attachment or guard. *Battery and charger sold separately.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Electric Motor
    Lightweight and compact, STIHL electric motors require minimal maintenance and feature low noise levels and reduced vibration.
  • Zoom
    High Tech Polymer Housing
    Housings are lightweight, withstand greater impact and are corrosion-resistant.
  • Zoom
    Start/Run/Stop Controls on Handle
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Interlock
    Must be depressed before the trigger can be activated.
  • Zoom
    Hanging Loop
    Hang your cordless trimmer securely on a wall to save space using the loop in the handle housing.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Retaining Latch
    All STIHL Battery powered products feature a retaining latch that is designed to prevent the unit from unintentional starts when the battery is inserted.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Loop Handle
    A thumb screw allows the ergonomic loop handle to be easily adjusted to the desired position without tools.
  • Zoom
    Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart
    Need help selecting a cutting head or blade for your STIHL trimmer or brushcutter?

    Click here to view the Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF Format).

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any trimmer/brushcutter can cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow all safety instructions in your instruction manual. To reduce the risk of injury from blade contact, circular saw blades may be used on FS brushcutters that have a limitstop, a bicycle handle and double shoulder harness and not on FS brushcutters with a "J" handle or loop handle. Other rigid blades may be used on FS brushcutters having a bicycle handle, a "J" handle or a loop handle equipped with a barrier bar. To reduce the risk of eye injury always wear proper eye protection. Always use the appropriate deflector for the type of cutting attachment, as explained in your instruction manual.
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Heads & Blades
    Many trimmer heads and blades are available. Find out which ones to use with this model in this chart.  
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Line
    There's high-performance STIHL trimmer line for every operating condition. 
  • Zoom
    Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
We Also Suggest
  • Quiet Line™ Zoom
    Quiet Line™
    STIHL uses a custom blend of polymers to produce a trimmer line with the best all-around characteristics of abrasion resistance, flexibility over time and temperature ranges, and welding resistance. Quiet Line™ is available in .080” and .095” diameters and comes color-coded so that the diameter can be easily determined.

     

     

     Trimmer Chart
  • AP 300 Lithium-Ion Battery Zoom
    AP 300 Lithium-Ion Battery
    The AP 300 Lithium-Ion battery is the most powerful handheld battery in the STIHL line – 28% more power than the AP 180, while remaining the same weight (3.8 lbs.). And all STIHL batteries are based on 36-volt Lithium-Ion technology, hitting the “sweet spot” of power and run time. They are also engineered to last, keeping 80% of their battery capacity after 500 charges. The AP 300 even features specialized voltage monitors and temperature sensors to help ensure optimal operation and a long service life. Have questions? Contact us today and we’ll help you find the right battery equipment for your needs.

    View Our Usage Chart
  • AL 300 Rapid Battery Charger Zoom
    AL 300 Rapid Battery Charger
    Your advanced STIHL battery-powered equipment deserves an equally advanced charger. The STIHL AL 300 rapid battery charger fits that bill perfectly. Designed to charge your STIHL Lithium-Ion batteries in approximately 25 minutes*, the AL 300 is exactly what you need to power through your lawn care tasks. It features an onboard cooling fan and bright LED display to indicate current charge level. This smart charger even switches off automatically once your battery is fully charged.

    View Our Usage Chart
For Your Safety
  • Camo Glasses Zoom
    Camo Glasses
    Style and protection come together with STIHL Camo Frame Glasses. These eye protection goggles are wrapped in camouflage print and provide 99% UV protection. Soft rubber temple tips and nosepiece help maintain fit and while reducing slippage.
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FSA 65 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Piece of expensive junk Bought brand new, used once to trim, then line broke off, took to dealer who rethreaded. Tried at home line snapped off and rethreaded again per instructions. Tried trimming line broke off again. Line doesn't feed when bumped.Dealer won't refund. Considering small claims court to get refund.BE WARNED!!
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor poorest trimmer we have ever had. hard to put new line on and have to beat it on ground to even attempt for line to come out most of time have manually pull it out would like to have money back.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1 of my smarter investments! I've owned this trimmer for 3years. I've been very happy with it. I had a gas trimmer before this one that was always persnickety about starting. No problems with starting for this one! The 85 battery lasts about 30min. which gets my project done every time. Only problem I've had is from time to time the string doesn't feed out...which I feel is expected of any line trimmer.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FSA 65 I bought this for basic yard trimming.I like that it has more power than gas models...but I don't like the way it handles..it is hard to get the right angel when trimming..my wife won't use it cause it is heavy and it hurts her arm to try and get the right angel to trim around trees and landscaping.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A delight to use with a couple exceptions With the battery operation eliminating the need for a gasoline engine or electric cords, it is truly a pleasure to use the trimmer. I am having one major problem that is not addressed in the instruction manual. The instructions say to tighten the cap by hand when replacing the mowing head. When this cap is tightened, even lightly, the string line will not advance when the mowing head is tapped on the ground. If the cap is loosened several turns the line will advance; however, each time the mower head is tapped on the ground the cap tightens; and the line will no longer advance. I find that each time I wish to advance the line loosening the cap before tapping the mowing head will allow the string to advance. It would seem that there should be a spacer that would keep the cap from being tightened too far.
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts easy but it takes some getting use to. The unit starts very easy and runs great but it will take some getting use to. I have owned a curve shaft trimmer for 25+ years and this is the first straight trimmer I have purchased and I am still trying to get use to the way it cuts.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this for me I recently purchased the FSA 65 electric trimmer to trim my yard. After reading the specs, and from previous purchases of Stihl products, I was confident this product would not disappoint. The initial charging time of the battery was about 30 minutes and when I first used it I was amazed at its power. My back yard was very over grown so I trimmed off the tall grass so it could be mowed. I not only cut all of the overgrowth but there was enough power left to trim the whole yard. Even as I was on the last bar of the battery, the trimmer still had the power of a full charge. I love this product and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. It's light weight, extremely easy to use, and is a true work horse. Five stars in my book; this is a great product.
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The tool is ready when I am I had grown tired of gas powered tools not being able to start them when I needed to get a job done. This battery powered trimmer has the power to do my trimming and never disappoints me - I press the trigger and it runs every time.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much more convenient than the gas powered version. Have used it for around 1 month and very satisfied. I purchase this battery powered trimmer to replace a Stihl gas trimmer I had used for over 10 years. The battery powered model is so much easier to use, much lighter and much quieter. It's pricey to when you purchase the first battery powered equipment due to the cost of the battery and the charger, but now that I am set up with those items I plan on getting additional battery operated equipment to get away from starting problems and mixing gas!
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Far better than the competitors electric rechargeable trimmer. Purchased an FS65 electric rechargeable trimmer after wearing out 2 -18volt and 1 - 40volt Ryobi rechargeable trimmers. I mow and trim 2.5 acres and the FS65 performance is amazing. The weight is comfortable and it is well balanced. The straight shaft unit works best for my varied trimming needs - chainlink fence, flower beds, trees, pond banks, and concrete block walls. By the time the battery runs low on charge, I am ready for a break. Compared to the Ryobi 40volt single line feed the Stihl 36volt dual line feed with thicker and higher quality line, the FS65 has cut my trimming time by 1/3. The unit is substantially more expensive (too expensive) than the competition, but the difference in performance and quality is significant.
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trimmer EVER I have owned other corded trimmers throughout the years.The lasts one was the Stihl FSE60 and it was the best to date.I finally decided to try a battery trimmer because I was a little tired of pulling the cord around the yard. Because the Stihl trimmer worked so well for me, I decided to try the FSA65. I say TRY, because I am a stickler on quality and if it did not perform to my standards, I would take it back directly.I had read the other reviews and was aware of the negative issues.One issue I did duplicate was the bump to release string feature that did not work for some. I finally changed the string and the feature worked perfectly. I can only assume that the string that came with the trimmer was old and had something to do with the dispensing.The battery is great. I trimmed a very big yard and only used half the battery according to the LED meter. The charger is easy to use too.The total quality and workmanship is above reproach.One drawback is the manual. A little vague and I did not readily see how to register the trimmer for the warranty.A little pricy, but you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product This replaced an electric start trimmer which was very heavy and impossible for me to start and my husband had trouble starting it also. Just putting in a battery and getting right to trimming is a wonderful change. It is pretty well balanced and I feel safe using it and it goes for a very long time. It seems to cut through just about anything except larger branches which is what I use it for.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for women! Absolutely love it! Just as powerful as my husbands stihl! Wish they had the precut string head available for this product tho. The easier for women to do yard work the better!
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product has a strong engine. The FS65 lawn trimmer has a strong engine.But the bump feature has never worked for me--once!The feet feature does not work well.I must take it apart to get feet!Battery make the tool of-balanced.Totally disgusted!!!
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Quality Trimmer - No fuss I am a serious do-it-yourselfer / hobbyist and am used to cabinet making & fixing engines (jet and automotive). After using gas / oil mixed trimmers for 20+ years I became a little tired of the ongoing maintenance for my small engine products. Plus, my wife would usually need help starting them.So, when I was gone on a military trip my father-in-law purchased my wife a cheaper ($70 isn't necessarily cheap in my book#, rechargeable trimmer from a box store. She liked it...for the 2-3 years before the plastic gears began wearing out. Additionally, its charge wouldn't last long enough to trim around the 3 acres of property. She / we frequently would need to leave the battery recharge overnight to finish the next day. This began a little old as well...especially when we began having children and free time for maintenance projects was getting squeezed.As I began researching gas model trimmers, I remembered a Chaplain that I served with in the military owned a Stihl rechargeable trimmer #an early version from 2002?). I talked with him about the trimmer about a month later. He stated he still had it and it worked well.After contemplating the long term costs / maintenance between a gas & battery, I ordered the battery model as a household Christmas gift. I purchased the larger battery and quick charger. *It turns out I probably only needed the larger battery as it has enough power to trim my property with 25% charge remaining.This trimmer is unbelievable. Descriptors: lots of power, extremely quiet, no fumes, no mixing of gas, light - weight, well-balanced, adjustable, durable, and easy maintenance. *I have to mention about the ease of replacing the trimmer line. Now that I am familiar with how to replace the line - I can have new line wound on the trimmer and back to trimming in less than 5 minutes. Nothing like winding the spools of line from my other trimmers.Cost: while I know it costs a bit more than the gas trimmers, its simplicity of use & maintenance AND the fact that my wife is able to use it without issue is worth the expense. *We have owned this trimmer for almost a year now with no problems.
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet and plenty of power for the average homeowner I looked at various trimmer options including your gas models. I have some hearing problems so I was leaning towards the cordless units. Since I didn't want to deal with extension cords anymore, I eliminated the corded model.I purchased the FSA 65 and couldn't be more pleased. follow the directions and you won't be dissatisfied. You can trim early in the day and not wake up the neighbors!
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from light weight and easy to use It is light weight and easy to use,just grab it and go,no gasoline or fiddling with the carburetor,but way overpriced.
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best in all categories...That is uncommon for any product!! Bought several before I tried the Stihl. Best yet, easy sting load, almost never breaks inside spool and feeds as needed. The most trouble free I have ever owned.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought it for the wife This a great trimmer, our lot is 75x160 with fence all around also flower beds and walk ways. We bought the 120 battery, the wife wears out before the battery goes down. we were surprised by the power this trimmer has. Also refilling the head is a snap, line up the arrows and insert the lines and just twist the knob to wind the new line on the spool.
Date published: 2013-06-30
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_fsa65, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl