FSE 60 - $119.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FSE 60

DSRP: $119.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This electric trimmer is lightweight and exceptionally quiet.

Part of our environmentally responsible product line, the ergonomic FSE 60 electric STIHL trimmer has power to spare. With an easy squeeze of the trigger, this lightweight grass trimmer is capable of handling small to moderate yard jobs while remaining powerful and surprisingly quiet—under 60 decibels when equipped with STIHL Quiet Line™.

Print Spec Sheets
FSE 60 Specifications
WEIGHT* 4.0 kg (8.8 lbs.)
CUTTING SWATH 35.5 cm (14")
MOTOR OUTPUT 0.6 kW (5.3 amps)
VOLTAGE 120 volt (60 Hz)
POWER SOURCE Electric
*Weight without cutting attachment or deflector.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    High Tech Polymer Housing
    Housings are lightweight, withstand greater impact and are corrosion-resistant.
  • Zoom
    Start/Run/Stop Controls on Handle
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Interlock
    Must be depressed before the trigger can be activated.
  • Zoom
    Adjustable front handle
    The front handle is easily adjustable (360-degree rotation) for comfort.
  • Zoom
    Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart
    Need help selecting a cutting head or blade for your STIHL trimmer or brushcutter?

    Click here to view the Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF Format).
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Electric Motor
    Lightweight and compact, STIHL electric motors require minimal maintenance and feature low noise levels and reduced vibration.
  • Zoom
    TapAction™ AUTOCUT® Head
    TapAction™ AUTOCUT® C 5-2 cutting head for easy line refilling. Simply tap the head to feed the double nylon line.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Built-In Cord Retainer
    The built-in cord retainer helps prevent the power cord from becoming accidentally disconnected.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Loop Handle (R)
    Loop handle grass trimmers and brushcutters are ideal for trimming between bushes and shrubs and other areas where space is limited.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any trimmer/brushcutter can cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow all safety instructions in your instruction manual. To reduce the risk of injury from blade contact, circular saw blades may be used on FS brushcutters that have a limitstop, a bicycle handle and double shoulder harness and not on FS brushcutters with a "J" handle or loop handle. Other rigid blades may be used on FS brushcutters having a bicycle handle, a "J" handle or a loop handle equipped with a barrier bar. To reduce the risk of eye injury always wear proper eye protection. Always use the appropriate deflector for the type of cutting attachment, as explained in your instruction manual.
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Heads & Blades
    Many trimmer heads and blades are available. Find out which ones to use with this model in this chart.  
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Line
    There's high-performance STIHL trimmer line for every operating condition. 
  • Zoom
    Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
We Also Suggest
  • Premium Round Line Zoom
    Premium Round Line
    STIHL uses a custom blend of polymers to produce a trimmer line with the best all-around characteristics of abrasion resistance, flexibility over time and temperature ranges, and welding resistance. Premium Round Line is available in diameter sizes from .065”-.130” and comes color-coded so that the diameter can be easily determined.

     

     

  • Quiet Line™ Zoom
    Quiet Line™
    STIHL uses a custom blend of polymers to produce a trimmer line with the best all-around characteristics of abrasion resistance, flexibility over time and temperature ranges, and welding resistance. Quiet Line™ is available in .080” and .095” diameters and comes color-coded so that the diameter can be easily determined.

     

     

     Trimmer Chart
For Your Safety
  • Black Widow Glasses Zoom
    Black Widow Glasses
    Protect your eyes with style. Choose a Silver Mirror or Indoor/Outdoor lens - both providing 99% UV protection. STIHL Black Widow Protective Glasses have a lightweight, single lens wrap-around design and soft-touch temples that provide additional comfort.
  • Basic Hearing Protector Zoom
    Basic Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 23. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Available color: Black/Grey
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FSE 60 is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 106.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Power and quailty. Trimmer is great. Turning it on its side to edge is a bit awkward and heavy. Would buy it again.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best electric trimmmer I have ever used by far!!! Great power, quiet operating, smooth in your hands, exceptional balance, no back strain, and very easy to reload the line,.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Spend more time installing wire than weed eatng I bought this model a couple of years ago--and believe me you will spend more time installing the wire than you will weed-eating. We have tried everything. So you load the wire according to the manual--and after a few feet of weed wacking the wire will put out of the head for no reason at all--then you're back to installing the wire again. The head for the FSE 60 is very poorly designed. I defintely do not recommend this weed eater.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FSE 60 I love the power this unit has, zero emissions and no fumes, low noise, well balanced design for long use. It has a truly pro feel. But then the line will not consistently come out. I have cleaned the head many times each year, used WD40 which definitely helps, recently tried flushing it out with water. My string loads fine but the button sticks, won't go down all the way or come back out. You have to stop and mess with it to get it unstuck. I have to tame a lot of Bermuda grass in my yard and this makes it a very long frustrating process. I would like to replace the head with something more durable and heavy duty to match the build quality of the rest of the unit. I have owned the unit for over 4 years.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Positive It may be too soon to review my new trimmer but so far I am happy with its performance. It is stronger than the previous 3 lithium battery powered units I have used. It has taken on every grass and weed species even heavy, dense growth. It is evenly balanced and so far has fed the string properly--I did go back and read the instructions about tapping it and it worked.The unit is strongly built and it seems like I will have its use for as long as I am able.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still Does Not Work I bought this unit a year ago hoping to upgrade to a more powerful trimmer that really worked. I liked this unit because it was electric and was supposed to feed out line with a tap to the bottom. Well, it hasn't worked that way. The line NEVER feeds out when the unit is tapped on pavement, so I have to take the entire unit apart and manually pull the line out every time the like breaks off. Twice I have taken this unit back to the dealer I purchased it from, and they said there was no problem. I didn't think the folks at the dealership were really interested in solving the problem I was having with the feed. I cannot return it, and the warranty (30 days) expired before I discovered the problem, so I am stuck with it. I would not buy this product again because it doesn't work as advertised and the dealership has not stood behind the product.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So much better than others I've used. Many of the reviews talk about loading the line. I too spent lots of frustration trying to do as the dealer showed me. I finally figured out to take the spool apart and hand wind it. It is very easy to do and no frustration. As a widowed, older woman, I definitely love the trimmer and would buy it again. I do recommend a harness to help with weight.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad loading system Can not get it to load string line falls out of spool. Spend more time trying to load the string than it takes to mow the lawn. Not Happy but stuck with it so will do the best I can do..
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight Works as good as a gas edgerVery lightweight and cuts with ease.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good power for an electric trimmer Very strong trimmer for an electric. This replaces an old "weed-eater" single string with .063" line. Women & older owners may want to consider using a shoulder strap as it does get heavier, after about 10 minutes. The line replacement is failrly easy with the AutoCut C 2 5. Just be aware that when loading line, it cranks counterclockwise. Unused line should be stored in a container or sealable bucket of water to keep the line soft. The line release needs a solid tap (not a gentle bump) at full speed to release more line.The trimmer is pricey. I got mine used.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product has great This product is good. Its easy to use. I would buy another one.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does the job. It's better than the well-known-brand competitor's trimmer that it replaces. Plenty of power.Contrary to other reviews, it is easy to switch between trimming and edging. Just swing the grab bar 180 degrees around the shaft.Line feed is difficult. You have to really bang the thing against the ground.The first (and only, so far) time I used it, the factory-supplied line jammed and I had to disassemble the rotor head to free it. Then I had to reinstall the line on the spool. That's not as easy as the guy in the hardware store made it sound. There are several tricks: (1) Make sure the end of the line is cleanly cut. Use shears, not nippers, which tend to flatten the line at the cut so it's out of round. (2) Make sure the end of the line is straight or it will miss the hole in the spool. (3) And be aware that if the line goes into the feed hole more than about three-quarters of an inch you've missed and need to start over at (1). I have hopes that once I get the hang of it, replacing the line will turn out to be easy.Edger function would be enhanced by adding a wheel.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Line Spool Very time consuming process, not clearly defined in manual
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good trimmer. I've enjoyed the trimmer so far it's well balanced and easy to use, battery lasts longer than I expected but we always want more, I use multiple battery products and really like that I can keep working just by moving the battery.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from simply Frustrating to Use In a word, loading and using this is way too much work. Had a tutorial from dealer. But it rarely releases line when bumped. It's probably operator error. I have gone back to hand trimming.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from restringing I guess the biggest thing is the restringing. I had hoped it would be easier and more efficient but this is not the case. Most of the time I ask my hubby to restring it because I don't seem to ever do it right. I wanted to get a blade for it instead of string but was told it can't be done. So bottom line the stringing of this is a time consumer and not all that easy.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this trimmer I love this trimmer. As a woman who does a lot of lawn work, I was tired of the tempermental gas trimmers and knew an electric was the way to go. This trimmer is light weight, but still has the power I need to trim a fully-fenced 1/3 acre.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No better than any other trimmer I've owned...probably the worst. The line feed has not worked. Not one single time! I'm using the recommended line size...winding it properly. The screw cap must be aligned perfectly before you can replace it. If there's a secret, I haven't figured it out. I didn't need the aggravation. Using this thing is a battle!
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed with Reliability I had an FSE 60 for 5-6 years and only problem was difficulty in loading line and line advance from time-to-time. During last year, had issue that when I turned unit over to edge along sidewalk, it would periodically cut-off; total loss of power. I would have to turn back upright to restart. Took unit in for maintenance, but based on cost to check, bought a new unit last year. Same thing happening in 1st year with this unit plus orange housing melted off last night!! Going back to cheaper units with understanding they will be replaced more frequently.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from quality materials, poor design I have other Stihl products which have served me well. I bought the FSE60 for home use and have been very dissatisfied. The motor is quite good and the control lever is quite well built. However, reloading the string head is difficult and the geometry of the cutting head angle is very poor. The angle is more suited to mowing heavy weeds than trimming around the house, sidewalk, flower bed or fence - which is where I would use this home model. The angle of the cutter makes it difficult, or impossible, to trim close around the house or sidewalk. In order to trim around the flower bed border I have to stand in the flower bed and "cut over the top" (if that makes sense). When trimming next to the house I have to hold the motor up by my head and operate the switch at an odd angle. It is unfortunate that there is no satisfaction warranty available. It's too bad that this Stihl product, which is built from good components, is not designed well for its intended use.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made, easy to use. I initially had a problem loading new cord but the local dealer showed me what I was doing wrong. Since then I've had no issues, nor has my son who uses it regularly. Thanks for a well made, well thought out product, and made in the USA to boot !!!
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from line release has never worked I've had the FSE 60 now for several years. Though it is quiet and powerful the line release has never worked. And lately the cutting line purchased from the local Stihl dealer is breaking inside the head. So I have to take the head off and then struggle with getting it back on. Which is very time consuming. Bottom line the FSE 60 is not worth the effort.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shroud too large Bought this 6-5-16 based on previous reviews. Took it out to use it Monday, 6-6-16. After approximately 30 minutes of trying to turn it every which way to get it to trim, I gave up and got my old weed trimmer out. It took care of what I needed to do, then I thought I would give the FSE 60 another shot. Again, I spent more time trying to get the string to feed--it would not. And trying to dismantle the string head was not what I would call user friendly. Another thing I noticed--not just Stihl, but my old one, is that they are not left hand friendly either. I guess the manufacturers don't think about things like that in the design/scheme of things. I am going to return it for a refund. I really thought I was buying one heck of a weed trimmer.......
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow this is the best Trimmer I have ever used. The first trimmer that I have used that can go for an hour and 1/2 without having to re spool the line. It is light weight and has the power to get weeds and brush down and Is very good at edging the lawn. So glad we bought this product. I can highly recommend it for yard maintenance- we have 1 acre
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short useful life doesn't match its high Stihl price. I loved this trimmer early on, then after about five years of regular use, it's auto line feeder stopped working. I've replaced the heads about 4 times in the past few months, but the line still doesn't advance, so I have to rewind and reset after a few minutes. Local dealers have no answer.Paying a premium price for a superior product that lasts far longer than cheap competitive brands often makes sense. But not in the case of the FSE 60. If this is your plan, don't waste your money.I hoped for and expected better in the long run from a quality company like Stihl.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It still working after years of use My experience is typical of all the other reviews but even with its problems it's Sthil working. I'm not trimming my lawn. I'm cutting overgrown weeds and it's the only electricit trimmer that I have had not to replace.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Akward to use My 35 year old electric string trimmer died so I bought a new one. I figured I would spend more money and get a good trimmer. I bought the Stihl based on the reliability of my old Stihl chain saw and online reviews. My wife likes to keep our yard looking nice so she has been the one running it. I noticed that her stance when holding it was very uncomfortable. To hold the head in a cutting position she had to hold her elbow pointed up in the air. I then spent a couple of hours with it and this unit really sucks. It is horribly uncomfortable to use and the line release doesn't work. I took a shoulder strap off an old gas trimmer. (our Stihl didn't come with one) It helped some but the design is not ergonomically acceptable. I think I'll take the trigger off the old trimmer and mount it 6 inches forward from the Stihl trigger and maybe it will be better. This Stihl trimmer is higher priced than the box store trimmers but is not a good unit to operate. I expected more.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only plug-in trimmer choice Tiring of plug-in trimmers with unreliable line control brought me to the FSE 60. The reliable line control works as I want it to, when I want it to and meters out a reasonable amount of line in the process. The use of line that is heavier in gauge than other plug-in trimmers has, for me, resulted in longer line life. I now spend the majority of my time cutting instead of fruitlessly fiddling with the line.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the market I've used my STIHL FSE 60 5 to 10 hours a week since 2005, it's 11 years old still works perfectly. My secret was to clean the tool atleast weekly. For line advance issues, I use WD 40 everyday usually do this during line filling.I am here today as i've had such good luck with mine, i'm going to buy another so i'll be set for years to come.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quiet, reliable, and cheap to operate on 3rd season with this line trimmer. Probably the best corded electric you will find these days. Line replacement is extremely easy.
Date published: 2016-04-26
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_fse60, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl