FS 38 - $129.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FS 38

DSRP: $129.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A lightweight, value-priced consumer trimmer with many quality design features.

The STIHL FS 38 Grass Trimmer is ideal for homeowners looking for a great value. High cutting speeds and a 15" cutting width trim time off landscaping chores by providing excellent cutting performance. Its lightweight design - just 9.3 pounds! - along with an ergonomic loop handle, curved shaft and low vibration provide operator comfort as well as exceptional handling and maneuverability around la...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FS 38 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.65 kW (0.87 bhp)
WEIGHT* 4.2 kg (9.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 330 cc (11.2 oz.)
CUTTING SWATH 15"
POWER SOURCE Gas
* Weight without cutting attachment or deflector.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Adjustable front handle
    The front handle is easily adjustable (360-degree rotation) for comfort.
  • Zoom
    Fully Lined Drive Shaft
    Provides smooth operation and less vibration.
  • Zoom
    High Tech Polymer Housing
    Housings are lightweight, withstand greater impact and are corrosion-resistant.
  • Zoom
    Start/Run/Stop Controls on Handle
  • Zoom
    Protected Choke Lever/Knob
    Helps prevent damage.
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Interlock
    Must be depressed before the trigger can be activated.
  • Zoom
    Air Filter Cover
    Easily removed for fast and easy filter cleaning or replacement.
  • Zoom
    Protected or Enclosed Control Cables
    Eliminate dangling and loose wires.
  • Zoom
    Heavy-Duty Steel-On-Steel Clutch
    Centrifugal clutch is designed to reduce slippage.
  • Zoom
    Protected Spark Plug
    Protected yet easy to change.
  • Zoom
    Protected Spark Arrestor Muffler
    Has large baffles which reduce noise level and contains a screen designed to reduce the emission of sparks.
  • Zoom
    Upright Translucent Fuel Tank
    Allows operator to easily check fuel level before starting work. Upright position makes it easier to refill.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    By pressing the bulb, this small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor, reducing the number of starting pulls needed after an extended break between uses.
  • Zoom
    Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart
    Need help selecting a cutting head or blade for your STIHL trimmer or brushcutter?

    Click here to view the Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF Format).
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Trimmers
    View the features common to many STIHL trimmers.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

  • AutoCut® Line Head Zoom
    AutoCut® Line Head
    Mowing head that uses nylon line. Advances cutting line when “tapped” against the ground. AutoCut® C versions reload line by simply inserting line into eyelets and twisting bump knob.

     

For Your Safety
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey
  • Gridiron Glasses Zoom
    Gridiron Glasses
    STIHL Gridiron Protective Glasses – experience heavy-duty protection combined with flexible, lightweight comfort. A hard-coated lens resists scratching and rubber nose pads protect from slippage when sweating. Filter 99% of harmful UV rays.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FS 38 is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 315.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's a screamer when running well... Have mine for two years now and this spring it started giving me a little trouble starting. I always use Stihl pre-mix fuel and drain the tank for the winter. Replaced the spark plug and used fresh fuel. I removed the exhaust screen and it fired right up! So I put a torch to the screen and reinserted it. Then I readjusted the carb to balance out the flow. I was surprised that the screen was clogged after two years. Maybe the unit was a demo model or a return and sat around for a year or so. Just guessing.I do reccomend this trimmer if you can maintain it yourself. I think that you take the chance of voiding the warrany if you choose this route. Good luck!
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Starting problems & Not Reliable Bought this a little more than 2 years ago, follow the instructions in the manual very carefully at the start of the third year the machine does not start (no gas left in the machine from prev year) after trying couple of times the starting cord came out? I had a lawn mower for more than 14 years and the starting cord never came out. tried to go to the dealer I bought it from and they were closed, they moved/closed the store to another far location from us and even without informing their customers?? by email or mail?? I had to fix the machine myself only after 2 years??
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from no issues! I have had this trimmer for a year now, and it has never failed to start
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Trimmer I have owned yet! I bought my Stihl FS 38 about a month ago. I've trimmed with it about 10 times now. I've fueled it up exactly 6 times fully, and have NOT gone through a complete spool of trimmer line yet... and this Amazes me lol. I love this trimmer. Do NOT pay attention to poor or negative reviews, stating starting the darn thing as bad or a reason not to buy this trimmer. Every piece of Stihl equipment comes with a user manual, heck it's even in 4 different languages. Just read the manual, and actually use the recommended starting procedures, and you will NOT have one problem. I certainly have not. I've pretty much always bought and owned inexpensive trimmers. That's my fault. So I decided it was time for something serious and quality made. Boy this FS 38 trimmer does not disappoint. Best trimmer and warranty on the marker for the price point. Love IT!!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from below stihll standards Bought this with some hesitation due to average reviews. I have a Stihl chainsaw and backpack blower and they are fantastic. The f38 does not have the same high end standards in my opinion. Starts ok and has good power but runs rough until it is fully warm. Line dispenser head simply would not work at all with Stihl 2mm line. Poor head design. After studying it for awhile, I made some modifications to the trimmer head in hopes to rectify the design flaw. I slightly shaved a bit of plastic off the tabs in the trimmer head. creating a slight bevel on the leading edges.This fixed the problem and I am happy now. I love still products but overall I am disappointed that stihl released this F38 which is below their standards.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly as it should. I purchased this because I am disabled and needed a lightweight easy starting trimmer. It starts so easy every time. I was surprised at the power it has. It weighs just a bit more than the battery powered trimmer I replaced but it cuts so much faster it is well worth the trade off since I have to carry it less time. Very happy with it after a year of ownership.
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I will not buy another Stilh productions I purchased this weed eater because of it name and price It was a mistake, never again . I brought it home and barely got it started and got the job done. The next time I could not get it started so I took it back to the store. Thy got it started and told me it was flooded. So I took it home and it would not start again by now I was disgusted with this item and got out the electric eater . I have on several occasions tried to start this machine with no luck. It was cheep but it doesn't work, lesson learned. Junk!
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to start, hard to keep running and line feed does not work My previous trimmer was reliable and easy to use but was poorly constructed so I was excited to get one that had more solid construction. Unfortunately that is only good thing I can say about this unit. To preface, I am an engineer and I know how to use a 2-cycle engine and I use the proper pre-mixed fuel. The trimmer just doesn't want to start. I actually don't trim very often since its only about every third time that I can actually get it started. Then it seems to take a few minutes to warm before I can actually trim with it. And if that isn't bad enough, I can only get about 20' of trimming done before I have to manually feed line out (and start it again). The line feed feature of tapping it simply does not work. In fact I usually have to completely unscrew it and manually pull it out. I don't have a large yard... it only takes me about 35 minutes to mow. It usually takes me about 25 minutes to trim with trying to start and having to feed line out.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product performs as advertised Quality for the price. A straight shaft is better but more expensive.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this trimmer I have had it for a year and no issues unlike the two other non Stihl Brands I have in my Garage this one actually lasts longer than one season .Starts great and has plenty of power to get what I need done .Thanks Stihl
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality product Bought this FS38 trimmer from Ace Hardware three weeks ago. Extremely hard to start the first time (and yes I read the manual) and also had to stop the trimmer six times to release string because tap and go feature did not work Ace Hardqare would not take back this product after only four days. Decided to give it another try. Restrung the spool line myself but have yet to be able st start the trimmer. Definitely would not recommend.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard starting but... This product is hard to start but once it gets going, it works good. Have to have patience and time to start it.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I've had my Stihl FS38 trimmer one year now and I love it! It's easy to start when I follow the steps. I'm 5' 2" and it works great for me. It's a real work horse compared to other trimmers I've had. I would definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best trimmer i ever purchased. This trimmer is so easy to use and care for that I'll buy other Stihll trimmers in the future.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I really love my new weed trimmer. starts easily and runs great. the only problem I have is I never got my warranty info. I was supposed to get something from stihl co. on my e-mail, but never did. could you please help me out with that? thank you van!!
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Start, Great Safety Features This purchase was to replace another brand of weed eater, Had trouble with the other brand from day one. This unit is trouble free. I have other Stihl products also, and they are also very dependable and satisfactory.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product needs work This product is very hard to start. Read the manual and followed directions. Started 1 time out of the 3 times I've tried to use. Going to return it and see if it can get better. If not going to get a different one.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Homeowner Purchase I have now owned my FS 38 around 2 months and use it twice a week I have a decent sized yard and it normally takes me 2 days after I get off in the evening to get it all cut. I have owned 5-6 trimmers in my life so far and love this one the most. It is powerful enough to tackle anything a homeowner when is in his yard it is lightweight and runs like a dream. in the past I have gone with cheap trimmers from competitors and could tell right away I was not going to be happy. I am over 6 foot tall and this is very comfortable as well. This comes with a warranty which adds to piece of mind. I have already recommended this to several of my neighbors and co-workers. This would be the perfect house warming gift or just gift in general to the handyman(or woman) in your life. I think for the price there is not a better trimmer I am aware of and trust me I shopped around.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the easy start! I have dealt with alot of trimmers over the years but this is my first stihl! So happy with the easy start and string is easy to work with! I got this one so my wife can use it if I'm stuck at work and wont have to worry about it starting or string binding up! Buying at the dealer was also a great experience! Love me some stihl!
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to start Had FS 38 for 1 month, second time to use it, it wouldn't start. Took it back to Ace Hardware, they could not get it to start either after at least 30 pulls. They gave me a new one,took several cranks to get it started, I took it home , cranked it several times, would not start, took it back and got my money back.They do not know what the problem is . I'm not going to hurt myself with trying to crank it. May go back to the electric one. . Very disappointed in the still.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is very reliable & powerful I wanted to upgrade from a cordless trimmer to a gas one. After researching I found the Stihl has a great reputation for reliablility, power, along with a great warranty. The user guide was very straightforward and helpful. This trimmer is easy to start and starts every time. It's easy to use, delivers plenty of power and gets the job done.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First STIHL product My oldest Son talked me into this trimmer and I am very glad he did. The FS38 has out performed all trimmers I have ever owned. it is light, Balanced and has plenty of power for what I need to do. I am now a STIHL man.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great brand - high price I know you usually get what you pay for in most cases. This is the most money I've ever dropped for a trimmer which was a pretty penny after buying 1 gallon of pre-mix to get the 2 yr warranty.My last trimmer was 31cc for almost half the price of this model that is 27cc.The trimmer head only allows for small gauged line - i therefore need to whittle down my .095" line to utilize the thicker/better line.The STIHL trimmer starts up without a hitch and appears to be reliable. I loaned out my last trimmer and it never worked properly afterwards. I definitely won't make that mistake with this pricey one.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stihl ....nothing but quality I bought this stihl weedeater knowing or thinking it would be great ... i was right ..nice nice pc. To add to my already stihl collection .I love u stihl and always wihl scott v. Bowser moline illinois
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Headache My FS-38 has been nothing but a headache from the first day. Stalls, hard to start and dies off. It has been in for repair three times including a carburetor replacement and it still does not run anywhere close to right. My dealer asked me to contact Stihl directly so I filled out the Stihl on-line inquiry forms twice and they never answered. I thought I was buying a quality product from Stihl but instead it has been a total headache.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is great features This product is reliable, easy to use and starts every time no problems it is lightweight and has more than enough power
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great except for string assembly string breaks easily which requires many string advances which are unreliable. I have had to stop motor and advance the string manually.can the fs38 use a better strong string than what came with it? Is there a fix for the poor string advance?
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy Waste of money. Had it in shop after one use and still won't start. They wouldn't let me return or exchange. Will never buy Stihl again
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent trimmer for the price This is my second trimmer from Stihl. The first one was a FS45C & lasted for over 20 years. This one is basically the same trimmer & I am sure it will give the same service. It is light, easy starting and comfortable to use.Our place is 5 acres, with ditch banks and a pond to keep trimmed plus around the house and out buildings. It does a great job and I work it very hard. I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This trimmer is a pig Got this for fathers day two years ago and it operated great for the first two seasons. Then it started stalling constantly when you accelerated or put any load on it. Took it in for a full tune up. Worked ok until it warmed up and then the same deal. Took it back again for adjustment and no change. Out of warranty. Contacted support and was offered a part that might solve my problem but it requires a professional to install. I have already paid as much for service as I did for the trimmer. Any further investment w/o any assurance that it will fix my issue would be foolish now. I picked Stihl b/c of it's excellent reputation but this unit has turned me off completely to the brand. This thing has real design flaws that are apparent in the other reviews. I wish I had read them prior to purchase.
Date published: 2017-06-09
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_315
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs38, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl