FS 91 R - $319.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FS 91 R

DSRP: $319.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A professional trimmer packed with features for simplified and convenient trimming.

Demanding landscapers can save time using the STIHL FS 91 R professional trimmer. With its larger fuel tank than the FS 90 R, this model provides 30% longer run times, as well as a three-step start procedure to get to work faster. Thanks to its superior air filtration and low-emission engine, the FS 91 R is a dependable tool with great maneuverability and power. Its rubberized loop handle is desig...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FS 91 R Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 28.4 cc (1.73 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.95 kW (1.27 bhp)
WEIGHT* 5.5 kg (12.1 lbs.)*
FUEL CAPACITY 710 cc (24.0 oz.)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Without deflector and cutting attachment.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Shoulder Strap / Carrying System
    Using a shoulder strap or carrying system helps distribute the weight of the equipment for increased operator comfort and improved maneuverability.
  • Zoom
    Adjustable Front Handle
    Adjusts for comfort.
  • Zoom
    Fully Lined Drive Shaft
    Provides smooth operation and less vibration.
  • Zoom
    High Tech Polymer Housing
    Housings are lightweight, withstand greater impact and are corrosion-resistant.
  • Zoom
    Protected Choke Lever/Knob
    Helps prevent damage.
  • Zoom
    Start/Run/Stop Controls on Handle
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Interlock
    Must be depressed before the trigger can be activated.
  • Zoom
    Air Filter Cover
    Easily removed for fast and easy filter cleaning or replacement.
  • Zoom
    Protected or Enclosed Control Cables
    Eliminate dangling and loose wires.
  • Zoom
    Heavy-Duty Steel-On-Steel Clutch
    Centrifugal clutch is designed to reduce slippage.
  • Zoom
    Protected Spark Arrestor Muffler
    Has large baffles which reduce noise level and contains a screen designed to reduce the emission of sparks.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Trimmers
    View the features common to many STIHL trimmers.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any trimmer/brushcutter can cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow all safety instructions in your instruction manual. To reduce the risk of injury from blade contact, circular saw blades may be used on FS brushcutters that have a limitstop, a bicycle handle and double shoulder harness and not on FS brushcutters with a "J" handle or loop handle. Other rigid blades may be used on FS brushcutters having a bicycle handle, a "J" handle or a loop handle equipped with a barrier bar. To reduce the risk of eye injury always wear proper eye protection. Always use the appropriate deflector for the type of cutting attachment, as explained in your instruction manual.
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Gearbox Attachments
    Gearbox attachments are available for this model. View the interchangeable gearbox chart to find out which attachments work with this model.
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Heads & Blades
    Many trimmer heads and blades are available. Find out which ones to use with this model in this chart.  
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Line
    There's high-performance STIHL trimmer line for every operating condition. 
  • Zoom
    Deflectors
    Protect yourself from flying debris while trimming. Check out our selection of deflectors and find the one that will help protect you.
  • Zoom
    Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey
  • Patterned Frame Glasses Zoom
    Patterned Frame Glasses
    Experience professional-grade protection from the harsh sun with the Patterned Frame Glasses from STIHL. Offering 99% UV protection, the glasses meet ANSI standard Z87.1+ and feature comfort-cushioned nose pads and polycarbonate impact-resistant lenses. They’re also lightweight and slip-resistant. Stop by our showroom to check out the Patterned Frame Glasses, as well as all of our protective eyewear!
  • High Performance PRO Gloves Zoom
    High Performance PRO Gloves
    Elastic slip-on cuffs. Padded palm and knuckle guards. Reinforced PVC grip overlays. Sizes: M, L, XL

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FS 91 R is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent trimmer, loads of power, low fuel consumption I bought this trimmer one year ago today, and used it to clean up 8 acres of land that had been left vacant for years. I bought the brush cutting blade with it, and it has plenty of power to cut down large saplings without bogging down. Excellent all around trimmer/brush cutter, uses very little fuel. This thing ran nearly non stop for weeks on end, and still is used frequently. Has never failed to start, with no more than two pulls.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loss of power I have trusted stihl products and loved them,except this trimmer!!!! Had the same problem of loss of power ,its been in shop four times and they all say varb was gunked up.Then they go on to say it runs great!! Well why after a hour of being out of shop it will not stay at full throttle??? The products are expensive enough i cant afford to have worked on every year!
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong and ready for use A little pricey for most consumers, but overall it has the power to tackle most of what I needed it for. Engine gets a little warm up around the top end (Wish they worked a heat deflector into design) when using as I am a tall person. The push to extend line button did not last long before I had to replace it, fuel filter popped out, and gas cap retention line was poorly designed. The motor is strong and reliable: as well as; quick to start and power through "Most" of my yard with ease.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should have bought the higher hp model Overall good performing but did bog down a little in heavy grass/brush. I am going to invest in the blades to see if that improves performance. I almost bought the higher hp model just to be sure but did not want to go way over budget.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is as advertised. This product has a lot of power, but more important is that it starts every time. I have no idea why I waited so long to buy this trimmer.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't stay at high throttle I love stihl so don't think I'm writing this to down on stihl. It's just I have recently bought the brand new fs91r and since day one the weed eater would not stay at high throttle when string extended. And I took it in for repair 3 times before someone found the filter was dark brown. Said it was from ethonal in gas and that I got the bottom of the tank. He said to only use 93 or ethonal free gas. Well seeing as ethonal is not at every gas station I have done 93 and now it's doing it again where it don't want to run when string is out. But the past three weeks after it has ran awesome. But now having same issue as before. Still not as good as my old fs90r I had though.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product has great power. Trigger to small i like new choke system the weight of product makes it easy to use. Stihl has made sure our dealer is well trained on products.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good product. This trimmer is the best you purchase for your money. It is professional grade, so if you buy it for your personal yard use it is the last one you will ever have to buy. It zips right on through tall grass and weeds with ease. I bought it because I got tired of the home depot grade and i wanted something that will last for long time and I have no doubt that it will. It starts up with no problems and once it warms up its ready to get the job done. I am very pleased with this investment and the price wasn't to high. I recommend this particular weed trimmer if you need something for your home use and you want it to last,
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ready for a good day's work. After wearing out an older string trimmer with handlebars, which I liked, my Stihl dealer sold me on a 91-R, which I have used in getting ready for this summer's fire season. The extra volume in the fuel tank has made my work in trail clearing and a clear zone around the house a lot more efficient. I can get through a whole day with just a couple of pauses to re-fuel.It took me a little-head-scratching to figure out a tiny little change in the way the head opened up to replace the trimmer line, and I needed to whack the ground a little harder to make the bump-feed work, but in the end, it was only a bit different from the one I was used to.Overall, a good piece of equipment.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good trimmer starts easy has good power. I like the strap to allow good weight distribution and power is good. Starting is great.
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome machine This by far is the best trimmer i have ever owned. I trim over 300yds if ditches and around 2 acres. No bogging down and no mercy. Perfectly balanced. I love it!
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I just bought the FS 91R to replace my old trimmer that had become completely unreliable. What a difference! I've only used it once so far, but it runs so quietly and has so much more power, that I didn't even mind the work as much as I normally do. The machine started right away and is very easy to handle. I'm a woman maintaining a small farm and this will absolutely make my life easier. I do plan to get some heavier line as the line that came with the trimmer breaks too easily with some of the heavier weeds, but I'm quite pleased with my purchase thus far. This is my second Stihl product (I also have a chainsaw), and I'll definitely recommend and purchase more products from this company. You do get what you pay for!
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best weed eater I've ever owned I do a lot of weed eating and I was told about trying out the Stihl weed eaters and I was not disappointed. The FS 91 R was worth every penny and much more!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive but quality costs It's so much better than my old machine: more powerful, more ergonomic, and safer.But it's expensive.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this trimmer I love the balance and power of this trimmer. Will continue to buy stihl prioducts.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wont start Bought this brand new 3 days ago. The counter guy put in fuel and started it with no problems. Now after two evenings I still cannot start the trimmer and my arms are about to fall off.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely awesome This is the only trimmer that you need on your trailer. It is powerful enough to do brush clearing jobs yet versatile enough for the trimming around the house. What I love most about it is that you can run at half throttle while doing your normal trimming but when you run into the big stuff just squeeze the throttle and you have more than enough power at your fingertips. When cold the trimmer will start on the second pull, the rest of the day just grab it give it one pull and go to work. You can't go wrong with this trimmer.
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! Worth every penny! 1 year going strong and handles the serious weeds.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Power as advertised but hard start and rough to no idle I purchased this trimmer new from my local dealer after reading the reviews and doing lots of research that I didn't think I needed since I believe strongly in the brand because I have been running Stihl chain saws for over 20 years. That said, I am VERY disappointed. For once I actually took the time to read the manual and follow the break in steps. It has been hard to start and has ran rough from day one and although I thought it would get better after break in, it has not. I was actually able to see the shaft flexing from vibration while waiting for it to warm up (yes, fresh gas and Stihl oil). I am in Ga. so when I'm trimming, its not warm out, its HOT. I broke the unit in and adjusted the idle as per the manual, however, it either over-revs at idle, or stalls within about 30 seconds of idle time. As for the bump head, as other reviews have stated it could be better but I would be happy if it would run long enough at idle to go from a tree to landscape edge and not have to re-start or keep it running at half throttle. I do agree the power and torque are remarkable at speed, but what good is it if it wont stay running? I have no problem paying a premium for a quality product and in fact I would rather do that than have problems, I just don't like having to do both. I will be returning this to my dealer and hope they make it right.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can't imagine a better trimmer I just purchased the 91 R and I'm glad I did. I carried it straight to the farm and put it to the test. It performs great! I recently bought a Farm Boss chainsaw and it's what made me want to stay with Stihl, I love it. I spent over two hours with my new 91 in a wet highway ditch and around my pond, cut waist high weeds. Even getting the lines in the water wouldn't bog it down. It was quite and smooth to run , and it started on the first easy pull every time. That is a must! Believe or not, the whole time was on the 3/4 tank of fuel that came in it! When I was done I wasn't 'buzzing' all over. I'm very happy and impressed, and can't wait to try the saw blade out in the brush.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer for the price Purchased 1 year ago. Still starts on the first pull and has had 0 problems. If your tired of buying junk ones every year then get a Stihl.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product but for the price it could be better I love this trimmer. The power and reliability is on point. It will cut anything. For the price I wish the safety guard could be re engineered. I know stihl engineers could do better. The string can not get long enough. When the line breaks it sucks right I to the line head. Other than this small problem this trimmer is great.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pOWERFUL ,YET LIGHTWEIGHT WITH AN EASY START nEIGHBOR WHO IS A PROFESSIONAL LANDSCAPER TOLD ME THAT FOR TRIMMING MY STEEP SLOPE DOWN TO THE LAKE i SHOULD BUY A QUALITY STIHL TRIMMER.. GLAD i TOOK HIS ADVICE THIS IS MY SECOND YEAR AND THIS TRIMMER IS VERY POWERFUL FOR LARGE WEEDS AND WITH EASY START IT MAKES IT SINGLE PULL TO START.. BOUGHT MY STIHL FROM lECHER fARM SERVICES AND THE INSTRUCTION AND THOROUGH DETAIL HAS PAID OFF TIME AND AGAIN. tHIS YEAR i BOUGHT A CHAIN sAW AND RECEIVED A VERY THOROUGH TRINING AND CAUTION .
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome machine I bought this trimmer 1 year ago loved it .I picked up a friends trimmer 131r. I used his trimmer 2 time's i trim about 5 acres plus other side jobs aswell. I traded 91r to purchase 131r i was blown away by the power what a difference. I cut waist high weeds heavy brush use circular saw blade on both trimmers cutting trees 3.5 in diameter the weight isn't much different. I run non ethanol stihl mix only. I highly recommend stihl product's.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible power Upgraded from an Echo GT-225 to the FS91R. First time I started the Stihl up I laughed at the torque compared to the echo. I realize I'm comparing two completely different machines but it feels like I went from a Prius to a diesel truck. The manual states you need to run 4-5 tanks of gas through the trimmer to reach full power. I can't wait. I've managed to find reasons to weed wack 3 nights in a row after work. Love it.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STRONG!!!! It is a bit on the heavy side but the quality and power are excellent. It cuts through the tallest grass and weeds like butter. I love it!!!
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power to cut through the toughest weeds The unit is easy to start and has the power to cut through the toughest weeds.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from POWERFUL!!! I bought the FS 56 RC-E last week and it wasn't enough for my yard so I came in on day 7 to Farmers Service In Isle Of White Co, VA, GREAT people there, and traded up to the FS 91 R and I'm glad I did! This thing is much more protected being the professional series, and much more powerful! I added the duracut head and it takes everything down without bogging down! The negative reviews are from those that don't know how to respool a line head and start a trimmer that's not from a box store. These things are bulletproof! Buy the 6 pack of oil or the motomix and it will double the warranty from 2yrs to 4yrs! A MUST BUY YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FS 90R After a year of ownership, This trimmer performs perfectly every time. I use it to clear tough brush and small trees on our little farm and I definitely use it outside its design specifications. I've seen a few low rated reviews, and I'm wondering what they did wrong. If there is an issue with this trimmer, It's because you didn't read the manual FIRST! The original string included with it was garbage in the stuff I cut, But a roll of heavier stuff from STIHL took care of it. Battling 3 acres of Wysteria with this thing and it never choked under load. The end of a 1 year ownership leaves me with only one question... What do I get next? I'm thinking about a chainsaw.... Gotta get those sweetgum trees down somehow.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent trimmer This is a great trimmer! I highly recommend it! Those who have issues with it probably shouldn't be using ANY trimmer.
Date published: 2017-05-07
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs91r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl