FS 94 R - $349.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FS 94 R

DSRP: $349.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A professional grass trimmer that combines performance, portability and innovation.

The STIHL FS 94 R trimmer delivers one of the best power-to-weight ratios in its class, weighing just over 10 pounds – great for maneuvering around hills, landscaping stones and other terrain. Its innovative control handle features an ECOSPEED throttle set wheel, allowing you to set the most effective throttle speed for a specific application. Combined with a high-powered, low-exhaust-emission eng...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FS 94 R Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 24.1 cc (1.47 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.9 kW (1.2 bhp)
WEIGHT* 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 540 cc (18.3 oz.)
POWER SOURCE Gas
* Weight without deflector or cutting attachment.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Shoulder Strap / Carrying System
    Using a shoulder strap or carrying system helps distribute the weight of the equipment for increased operator comfort and improved maneuverability.
  • Zoom
    Simplified Starting Procedure
    To get started, simply pump the fuel primer, set the choke and pull the starter cord. The built-in stop switch allows the user to turn off the engine with a simple press of the button. When the engine is off, the throttle lock automatically returns to the “start” setting. Your power tool will be ready to be started when you’re ready to get back to work.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Adjustable Front Handle
    Adjusts for comfort.
  • Zoom
    Fully Lined Drive Shaft
    Provides smooth operation and less vibration.
  • Zoom
    High Tech Polymer Housing
    Housings are lightweight, withstand greater impact and are corrosion-resistant.
  • Zoom
    Protected Choke Lever/Knob
    Helps prevent damage.
  • Zoom
    Start/Run/Stop Controls on Handle
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Interlock
    Must be depressed before the trigger can be activated.
  • Zoom
    Air Filter Cover
    Easily removed for fast and easy filter cleaning or replacement.
  • Zoom
    Protected or Enclosed Control Cables
    Eliminate dangling and loose wires.
  • Zoom
    Heavy-Duty Steel-On-Steel Clutch
    Centrifugal clutch is designed to reduce slippage.
  • Zoom
    Protected Spark Plug
    Protected yet easy to change.
  • Zoom
    Protected Spark Arrestor Muffler
    Has large baffles which reduce noise level and contains a screen designed to reduce the emission of sparks.
  • Zoom
    Upright Translucent Fuel Tank
    Allows operator to easily check fuel level before starting work. Upright position makes it easier to refill.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    By pressing the bulb, this small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor, reducing the number of starting pulls needed after an extended break between uses.
  • Zoom
    Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart
    Need help selecting a cutting head or blade for your STIHL trimmer or brushcutter?

    Click here to view the Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF Format).
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Trimmers
    View the features common to many STIHL trimmers.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Heads & Blades
    Many trimmer heads and blades are available. Find out which ones to use with this model in this chart.  
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Line
    There's high-performance STIHL trimmer line for every operating condition. 
  • Zoom
    Deflectors
    Protect yourself from flying debris while trimming. Check out our selection of deflectors and find the one that will help protect you.
  • Zoom
    Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

  • AutoCut® Line Head Zoom
    AutoCut® Line Head
    Mowing head that uses nylon line. Advances cutting line when “tapped” against the ground. AutoCut® C versions reload line by simply inserting line into eyelets and twisting bump knob.

     

  • Commercial Round Line Zoom
    Commercial Round Line
    STIHL uses a custom blend of polymers to produce a trimmer line with the best all-around characteristics of abrasion resistance, flexibility over time and temperature ranges, and welding resistance. Commercial Round line comes .095” and .105” diameters.

     

     

     Trimmer Chart
For Your Safety
  • High Performance PRO Gloves Zoom
    High Performance PRO Gloves
    Elastic slip-on cuffs. Padded palm and knuckle guards. Reinforced PVC grip overlays. Sizes: M, L, XL
  • STIHL® HellRaiser™ Glasses Zoom
    STIHL® HellRaiser™ Glasses
    The newest member of the STIHL protective eyewear – the STIHL® HellRaiser™. It offers 99% UV protection and style with enough attitude to protect your inner rebel. Featuring an extreme lightweight design and flex-point temples for ultimate comfort and stability.
  • Reusable Ear Plugs Zoom
    Reusable Ear Plugs
    Top-quality hearing protection you can keep in your pocket. NRR 27 Reusable Ear Plugs from STIHL feature multiple layers of air cushioning for superior noise reduction and long-lasting comfort. Their tapered design provides a secure seal that keeps you protected almost anywhere – from the shooting range to the job site. And thanks to the included nylon cord and carrying case, you can keep your ear plugs handy for the long haul.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FS 94 R is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 103.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice easy to start and runs great Had a Stihl so long that the #'s had rubbed off. went and bought this one and noticed quick that it was a lot lighter and more powerful than I ever remember the other one being.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A big letdown I purchased this trimmer three months ago and it has been a huge disappointment.. It has great features and great power but stalls on me constantly as if it is out of gas.. And restarts and runs fine for a while after.. As a lawn service operator I needed something consistent and this just wasn't it for me... Maybe I was unknowingly issued a lemon, it happens.. Bottom line my 94 runs great when it's running and is a pain when it's not..
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product I am very happy with the cutter. Bought it to use as a bush cutter and so far it does a great job. The only complaint I have is that when you buy the unit it comes with nothing. You got to buy the tools to take string head off and then besides having to buy the saw blade, you also now must buy the adapter to connect it to the unit. It is sold as a trimmer/bush cutter but must buy all the little items to use if for bush cutting. To me this is nickel and dime you if you want to use it for other than a string trimmer. I do not mind buying the blade and attachment but the adapter to connect it to the unit and the tolls to do this should be sold with the unit as almost all other brands do.I still love the unit and it is very good at what it does for me it is the cost for things that should come with it to be able to use it for all it is made for.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 Mix Quality I've carried this trimmer all over our 45 acre farm. With nearly three pounds less weight than the FS91, this trimmer causes a lot less fatigue at the end of a long day. The 2 mix engine works very well. The FS94 is one of very few Stihl 2 cycle trimmers. The 2 mix seems to have a stronger mid range than older 2 cycle designs, and it works very well at part throttle. Fuel consumption is reasonable. For those who need more power one of the bigger 4 mix trimmers may be better, but for clearing brush all day the FS94 is a great choice.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FS 94 R The last trimmer I will buy. I found myself needing a new trimmer. After several weeks researching, I decided on the FS 94 R. I knew within the first hour this was the tool for the job. I have a fence with a hot wire 6" off the ground. The variable speed control allowed me the ability to trim 10,000 ft. of fence row without damaging the wire. Full power was more than enough to take down all of the rough stuff as well without bogging down. I love this STIHL.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to guide My trimmer came with shoulder strap which takes the load off your arms and keeps the trimmer head at the perfect angle at all times making it easy to move around objects and easy to control. The heavy string lasts a long time before tap out.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reliable I've used many stihl products over the years and I've found them to be very reliable. Chainsaws, leaf blowers, and trimmers all of the have performed flawlessly and every time I replace one, which doesn't happen too often, I wonder why I waited so long to replace it. I know! it's because the last a long time.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first stihl Have ran a lot of home owner grade trimmers in the past from other company's. This is my first commercial grade machine. It blew my mind. I used it to clear woods after cutting down some trees. It ate right through honey suckle and all sorts of vines and under brush. I bought it because my current machine could not handle the job. I have been running it for two summers and could not be happier.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Trimmer This was my first Stihl purchase after using a Ryobi commercial 2079r for the last 20 years. I want to say I love my new FS 94 R but truth is I just don't. Here are my pros and cons:Weight: Very light and easy to useStarting: So far, has had no trouble starting hot or coldVariable speed: At first, I thought this was kind of gimmicky, but turns out I actually like it. It allows me to control at low speed to trim beds without flinging all the mulch out.Bump head: This is my major complaint. When edging along sidewalks, I'll still have plenty of string left and all of a sudden it will suck in both lines all the way to the spool, causing me to have to stop, take it apart, and manually release string so I can get rocking again. I like that I don't have to use tools to take the head off, but I'm having it to do ten times for every one time I used to have to do the same thing with my old Ryobi. I'm using factory wound spool. Jobs that should only take me 10 minutes end up taking 30 because of how frequently I have to take the head off. Aside from the above, when I need to use the bump head to release string, it does so fairly reliably with no issues.Power: Power is ok ,but it's a little less than I'm used to/expected. I would have sacrificed a bit extra weight for a bit more power, a head that holds more line, and a more reliable head.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, I'm impressed ... I cut commercially, have land myself and I'm super impressed with this cutter. I'll say that on the average it takes me 2 tanks of fuel to cut everything on my property if that tells ya anything. I've ran km90's and 110's for years and can say for a fact they're rock solid. BUT I have to be honest, with my first day and only 3 tanks of fuel the 90's and 110's are gone. This thing is so lite that I cut for 2 straight hours and didn't know it. I'm getting older and my back hurts so weedeating isn't easy so I have to say this 94r is a lifesaver. Enough power to cut knee high grass and it's very quiet compared to others... runs like it's fuel injected...
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight with power. I really love this product. I am very familiar with Stihl products, as I have worked with some early model weed trimmers and also own a FS 55 R. This product had me question the first few moments. But that was because of the break-in period. Now that it is starting to work itself in the power I am getting, I cannot ask for anything better. The lightweight trait has truly made this a worthwhile purchase, I weed about two hours straight on my lawns and this model helps with fighting fatigue.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stihl fs94r I love all stihl equipment but this model the fs94r it is the worst.to start it when it's warm it is a real nightmare I go from job to job and when I have to to restart it forget it the floods very easy cause you only have choke and run you can't even play with the choke to start it I've written to stihl about this and no response I have 2 of these units and both do the same thing oh and broken paws also warranty covered that but I'm threw with these 2 units I'm selling them to get 2 new fs91 or fs90 if they have any left I won't buy this model again I don't know why stihl has to go back to please a couple of Costurmers if the the 4mix trimmers are super reliable there was no need to bring back the 94 to replace the fs80 which was a great trimmer but not as reliable as the fs90 and fs110 .
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Owned for 1 year. Been great so far Great trimmer. Starts with a couple pulls. Easy to replace string. Super light for a commercial trimmer. Used as a homeowner with about an acre. Works well for edging sidewalk as well. Maybe a tad under powered for commercial use but I don't know for sure. Reliability should be excellent as this is a true 2 stroke design engine. Perfect for the homeowner that wants an excellent easy to operate gas trimmer
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No don't buy this piece of junk I purchased this two weeks ago and every since I have is nothing but problems the most frustrating thing is that start only when she wants but many other problems. Is junk to me
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from the spring does not release new string. Very frustrating! The spring does not release new string. Very frustrating!
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This trimmer has great features I purchased this trimmer when my dealer had a spring sale. I couldn't expected a better product. I have a KM85R that is also amazing. This a true replacement to Fs85R or KM85R .I expect many years from the machine.Like my 85 I want this to last 12 years and like my 85.Way to go Stihl!
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with product I am using three blade brush cutter. Breezing through sapling and vines. It is performing exactly as needed for the jobs I am doing.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not better or comparable to the FS100RX I love Stihl equipment and especially the FS100RX trimmers. I have 5 of them and never have anyone that works for me complain about anything but the handles (if they're over 6' tall like myself); and i usually replace them with the handles that come on the little curved shaft trimmers so you dont have to bend to trim with the head level. My dealer told me I would find the 94 comparable to the 100 but, a pound lighter and that sold me. I would say power is good but response with trigger pull is slow (typical for a 2 stroke). It is lighter but, having to fuss with cleaning the air filter and having the muffler screen plug up all the time stinks. I dont have time for that and cant have my guy's spending time with it either. I should have known better. My biggest problem with it is that, I paid the same price for them as I would have the 100. I expected better. The weight difference is not worth the loss of power problems and having to take them in for tune ups every month to the tune of 50 to 60 bucks every time. I like my dealer and shop guys but not THAT much. If you want the most power in the lightest package; buy an FS100RX. (and a BR600 blower)
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very light weight for the machine's size! I am a professional landscaper the stihl FS94R has made my job much easier! It feels like sometimes the trimmers not in my hands. This trimmer has met all my demands in power and durablity! I have put this machine thru tall wet thick grass, and it has made it. Never had any trouble with this trimmer yet!
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality I used a friend fs 90 trimmer he had for years to trim around his home.and when i first picked it up,felt the quality,had much power to do the job,uses less fuel.i gave it a thumps up,had to look in to buying one soon!
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product. Bought the fs94r a month ago and so far very pleased . has excellent power ,sounds great and lightweight. Owned stihl products since 2004 . Two chainsaws, blower , and now a trimmer. Love them all ! They are expensive but great products .
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product on the market Amazing trimmer! It's like going from a plastic knife to a surgical scalpel. I used another brand for years with break downs and it used lots of sting. I have done quite a few yards and acres and still haven't had to change string. It's adjustable speed, lightness, and length have taken so much stress off of my body. The ability to vary speed is great around flower beds and trimming, in general is precision and ease. Took a more difficult task with my old back to an enjoyable pain free day.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight, powerful and reliable I bought this trimmer because it is light is the main reason. Very smooth 2 stroke engine, love the trigger, ecospeed comes in handy at times, starts easily and has a plenty of power for anything ive done with it. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY PROFESSIONAL.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome commercial product I bought this trimmer in July 2015 and have run it hard ever since. This thing is indestructible! The head works best with .95" x-line.(Note that I have always used 93 octane in it and since May this year I have only used 93 w/ no ethanol, which, btw, no ethanol gives a HUGE power increase.)Anyway, the only issue I have had is carbon deposits on the muffler screen which caused severe flooding of the engine and loss of power. My local dealer fixed this by cleaning the muffler screen and installing a new spark plug. This issue happened twice since I bought the trimmer.TIP: I fixed the problem when an enlightened salesman (who does landscaping as a side job) at my dealer told me to just remove the muffler screen....WOW, If you think your trimmer is powerful, just try this. The difference was INSANE.To sum it up, I will be buying this trimmer ONLY from now on for general applications (If I need more juice I would buy the FS130 or FS130R for rough cutting etc.). The only reason I gave it 4 stars on power and dependability is because the muffler screen problem shouldn't just happen and not everybody would think to take it off.Thanks STIHL! Can't wait until I can buy a MS 461 chainsaw!
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around trimmer I purchased this trimmer yesterday and must say I am very pleased. It is very reliable, and it runs strong. It doesn't bog down very much in tall grass, and when you use it for trimming around the house, it's everything you need. Great trimmer. Just another reason I am a Stihl fan.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent power ECOSPEEED throttle great idea. Works great saves time
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight Lightweight with great balance and plenty of power. Decided on 94 vs the 90 based on the ability to control speed. The dial controls the trigger squeeze keeping the rpms where you want it.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality isnt cheap I have had this FS94R for about a year now and have no complaints about it. It has a really good power to weight ratio and is very well balanced. It does well in tall/thick grass/weeds, just don't forget to turn the dial so you can open the throttle all the way up. I give it an A+ rating.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light on the hands! Purchased this trimmer to replace a FS56. I needed something a tad lighter for my 70 year old father that still love to run his Stihl two strokes. Has more power in a lighter package. What's not to love.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good trimmer I have had the sthil FS94R for 5 months and now having problems. Took it in for repair and problems come back really fast. It's like it lost power can't reach its full potential like it used too. Always bogging out and dies out. The fs94r was really great till the problem stated happening. Wish I can get it back to the way it was. Tried taking it to two different places to get it fixed already.
Date published: 2016-08-12
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs94r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl