AutoCut® Line Head - $26.99 DSRP


AutoCut® 36-2AutoCut® 46-2AutoCut® 56-2

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

 

Mowing head that uses nylon line. Advances cutting line when “tapped” against the ground. AutoCut® C versions reload line by simply inserting line into eyelets and twisting bump knob.

 

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

AutoCut® Line Head is rated 2.4 out of 5 by 95.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powerful machine; poor head design I've had a Stihl FSe60 for several years. I am extremely satisfied with the trimmer itself: it is very powerful, especially for an electric trimmer. However, I am EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED with the autocut head-C5-2. According to the manual, the EasySpool feature is designed so that I should be able to put in new line without removing the head, simply by inserting a line into each hole and winding the head. Then, magically, the head should be wound with new line. After several attempts over the years, I have found this to be UNTRUE! It is very difficult to wind new line on the head; the head must be removed to add the line. I have to use a screwdriver to unscrew and screw the button on top of the head. Also, as previous users have commented, the line does not advance if it is bumped. I've tried it several ways. Stihl has made a poorly-designed head for this trimmer. I don't understand why Stihl hasn't redesigned this AutoCut head, as I have read many, many poor reviews about it. I am now, finally, shopping for another electric trimmer.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Auto feed problem I bought a new Stihl weed eater and each time I use it the auto feed does not work. I have to continually stop, open the trimmer head and re wrap the trimmer line as it breaks off inside the head and does not feed
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy spool -only easy with stihl line and a knowledgeable salesman The shop from which i purchased installed and said it was good to go. i could never get it to bump feed. was completely fed up with it. Then, i bought a ms-170 chainsaw from springs valley hardware. The salesman recommended a round stihl line and explained how the lower polymer lines melt inside the head. he also said it should be bumped at speed rather than not moving. Installed the new line and it has fed everytime i bumped at speed and the line lasts tenfold! it has worked amazingly but i understand the reviews as i would have given a 1 star review last year.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm dumbfounded by the bad design of this product. This is the worst design Stihl has ever put its name on.The feed just doesn't work, ever. I have to stop, manually press while doing a 3 fingered yank-job in the middle of every 40' of cut. I had a 1984 weedeater that had better 'auto-feed'. The Youtube video I was emailed repeatedly is NOT the new Autocut, It's an older system for gas-powered trimmers. The Autocut C5-2 is different, poorly documented and completely frustrating for the end user.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not auto feed Wound and rewound the line, it just will not auto feed. Auto feed head is next to worthless.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs and cuts well - when you can get the line to feed Purchased a FS56RC trimmer, pleased with how easy it starts and it seems to have plenty of power. Unfortunately the auto cut feature does not work well, I have tapped on the ground, banged it on the ground, high RPM low RPM, same results. Spent 30 minutes on hold with Stihl tech support, finally gave up and left my number. I have read quite a few reviews, sounds like I am not alone. Looks like the response from Stihl is to tap at high RPM, note that page 35 of the manual instructs one to do it "with the engine running" and page 31 of the manual instructs not to run at high RPM for the first 3 tank fillings. Don't think it's my line winding skill, as I am still on the original new machine load. Guess I get to make the 1 hour drive back to the dealer. Funny, our old weed eater was a bump feed, ran for years without problems. Expected better from Stihl.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have owned a FSE-60 trimmer with the auto cut head for 5 years, using it weekly all summer long edging 400 ft. of concrete and 200 ft. of trimming, and have never had a problem loading string or advancing line, I do bump it firmly on concrete, asphalt or dirt. I would estimate another 2 years use before replacing the AutoCut C head.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from FS-40C Purchased Stihl Fs-40C bushcutter a few months ago. Very soon the cutter head would not feed the line. I always have to stop the motor and manually feed the line. The bumper/bolt combo came apart. I carried the plastic bumper in my pocket to tighten the bolt after removing it to obtain the line. Yesterday I dropped the bolt and could not fine it. It appears the bolt is a dedicated one, and cannot be obtained locally. I went to the local dealer for a new bolt. He had no idea that there was a bolt on the cutter head, and said that he had none. He checked Stihl online and could not find one. The metal grommets on the cutter head are nearly worn away. I am disappointed that this machine is not of better quality. I think more engineering is need to much improvement it.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Same complaint everyone else has. Doesn't feed the line even when used correctly This Line head came with my dad's new Stihl FS38, and despite using the correct size of line and installing the line correctly, and having the engine full speed to do the 'bump' of the line head on the ground to feed the line, it only worked about 5 out of 50 times of use. After that, I got tired of tipping the weed cutter upside down and pulling the line out manually. It got to the point where I couldn't even pull the line out manually, I had to take it apart to get any line out. I got fed up with the whole thing and ended up buying a Dura-Cut line head with the Dura-Cut, single line that you just pop right into place. The price I paid for those Dura-Cut lines, I thought they would last longer, but they didn't last any longer than regular line that comes in spools.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not function properly I have a Stihl FS 45, purchased 12/21/09. It worked fine until yesterday. On 2/22/17 I purchased an Autocut C 5-2, yester was the first time I used it. It would not feed the line. I took it apart to check the line, and replaced the line with new line still would not feed. I took the head only to the dealer where I bought it, they checked it over and could fine no problem. I purchased a new autocut because to finish my lawn. I installed it on my trimmer and it would not feed line. I managed to pull out enough line to finish my lawn. This morning I call your tech rep. he told me that you have to run the trimmer at full throttle. advance the string. The instruction sheet that came with the autocut said about have to use full throttle.. I am going to take the trimmer to the dealer and see if they can make it work. If not I will just buy a new trimmer, but not a Stihl.Frank D. ThurlowVista, CA
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Line breaks too easily! Though I consider Stihl products to be the best of their kind,this trimmer head is, by far, the worst I've ever used, and that's saying a lot -- I'm 70 years old and have had lots of trimmers through the years. The line frequently breaks right at the head, requiring the head to be taken apart and the line re-threaded. This happens every few minutes, which means that I spend 30 minutes doing a 10 minute job. I will be replacing the head in the very near future.
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use the auto cut 25-2 Best head out there. Take time winding the line on the spool use the .095 round line from stihl if you use the professional trimmers. Roll one half and then the other. I never have any problem in grass or weeds with it bumping out. Now if you hit against fences or tree stumps it may cause a problem. But in grass and green weeds, this head on my fs90r and my fs130r will stand up until I run out of string. It isn't real hard to spool either. (I suggest any one having problems to look at the Videos or get the fix cut model. They are real easy such as the duro cut models.) I bought a couple of extra heads to switch out so I don't have to stop. I'd rather have these heads because they are durable and they don't get tangled up like models with both lines are wound up together and become welded or knotted. They occasionally have problems but it usually user error to much string or not taking care to put it on evenly.Great product!!!
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I believe in your product. Your chainsaws are awesome. So based on this I bought a fs38 trimmer from the get go the autofeed head was unreliable. It . The trimmer head is poorly designed. It will not advance line no matter how many times you bump it. I went back to my John deer/ stihl dealer and asked about a better head and was informed that this was the only head made for it. Unacceptable from a company of your stature. The trimmer itself is great.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor line feeding I have needed 3 different heads in my 1.5 years of ownership and I'm finally giving up on the autocut. A brand new spool works great until more line is needed. I am only rarely able to get the bump-and-feed to work and I spend more time respooling the line than trimming. Each of my 3 heads have had problems with feeding and fusing of the line. I thought it was me until I saw the other reviews on this product.Stihl, your customers are trying to tell you something.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fragile I purcchased a new stihll brushcutter with one of these heads.Only use trimmer for roughly 2 hours a month but after 2 months I have noticed a lot of wear and tear on the head from using the tap and go feature.I reckon you would be lucky to get a full year out of a head based on this.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This trimmer head does show any evidence of intelligent design There has been nothing done to this design in 35 years other than to stack two spools on top of each other which just compounds the difficulty of rewinding, unwinding the line in a garage let alone in the field. The problem is the same as it has always been. There is no level wind mechanism to maintain the line in anything other than a rat's nest ( yet fishing reels manufacturers figured this problem our in the 1960's). Additionally, the beveled edges on the spool outlets consist of an material incompatible with plastic line causing pre-mature breakage at the point of projection, thus making it impossible for the bump and release spring mechanism to work even if the line is behaving on the spools ( the pinch points need to be inside the spool and of a softer material to allow for tensioning that occurs when heavier load is applied by thick or heavy grass or rocks etc. Whoever signed off on the design review and the QA of this product should be embarrassed. So now I have to go buy another line head adding to an already inflated cost. I am not convinced the supposed reliability is going to worth the pain and headache of the great Stihl.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from have to open the spool to get more line out, bump doesn't work Terrible product, the spool has to be opened everytime to let more line out. You can't wind line on top of each other and expect the line to come out.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reliable but... I have to throw my hat in the ring with everyone else. I've purchased line trimmers before and I've not had the problems I've had with this particular line head. I absolutely hate trimming time because of it!
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a pain I've used this on my FS40. It worked decent for about 2 months, now it constantly has feed issues. I have to take it apart about every minute of use to manually feed the string through. The string constantly binds up as well.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good This head come on my FS 38. About 3 gallons of gas and 3 line refills and no problems. I have used different sizes, brands, and types of line without any issues. Good job sthil!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works for me it starts every time I try to start without fail no problems with this unit once of the best buys I ever purchased wish the line was one size up but I Manage green is ok but the orange does better job
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for years and very dependable This Stihl product is great, and has been very reliable for many years, with little to no problems. Have gone through several "re-loads" of string and am amazed at how dependable it feeds out line with a simple tap at cutting rpms.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this is the worst product engineers at stihl ever designed. I got to use this brand new tool once. Before it seized up internally.I am a journeyman diesel mechanic. I took it to the shop. Its been a 5 day project to open it up the other mechanics come over to my stall and try to free it up. My thoughts about it frag it
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Auto Feed Does Not Work Properly I had very similar problems as some of the other reviewers.....the bump feed mechanism would not auto feed the line so I had to manually open the spool and found on several occasions that the line was stuck in there and had to be pulled out by hand. This defeats the purpose of the auto feed feature and frankly, causes the entire process to be more trouble than it is worth. I have used it only once and it was such a frustrating experience that I will likely never use it again. Waste of money. I purchased Stihl because of the reputation....however will not make that mistake again. Entire experience was awful.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worthless. Constantly having to take the trimmer head apart to refeed the line because it will not (BUMP) and feed. This FS 38 was purchased 10 /15, used twice then stored till 4/16 at which time it had to have the carburetor replaced. I think the Auto Cut trimmer head is too complicated and should be redesigned.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works poorly I also have much trouble with this head, binding up inside, not feeding, and a pain to wind new line into it. Reading some of the other reviews I am wondering if the ".080" is to heavy/stiff for the head to work properly, I am going to try something lighter and see if that would help.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Auto Feed Head 11-2 Love the 11-2. Just can't get the auto feed head to work. Will call the Sthl #
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of time This came on my line trimmer and worked ok for about an hour. I opened it up like the manual and videos explain, but it never worked correctly. I spent hours re-winding and re trying, but it wasn't worth the time suck. I bought hard a blade and it works great.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decent, but has issues This is one of those things that would be great when it worked well. Unfortunately after my initial purchase of my Stihl weed eater.....and watching many videos on installing line (And getting the store to install it for me).....i've had nothing but trouble.It seems to jam quite often, im wondering if there is a defect in my head....im not too sure.When it works it's great, durable line. No complaints about the machine itself, just the line head isn't too great unfortunately.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't self feed Doesn't self feed and there aren't any instructions on how to put the line into the feeder
Date published: 2016-05-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_autocut, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl